(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: No regeneration - turbine problem?

  1. #1
    DIY Senior Member SteveW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    1,042

    Default No regeneration - turbine problem?

    I installed a Kenmore softener about 2 weeks ago. I have noticed that it hasn't regenerated since I manually regenerated it after installation. I put it into diagnostic mode to see if it is measuring water flow, and it does show that it is sensing flow, but compared to my previous Kenmore softeners, it does not seem to be measuring water flow accurately. The digits don't run up very fast even with a faucet fully open, but instead they go up about every 2 seconds or so.

    I took the turbine out and it spins on its axle just fine.

    Any ideas? Seems to me it is acting like it is binding up when actually installed (the turbine, that is) because it spins just fine when out of the housing.

  2. #2
    In the Trades Akpsdvan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    You might try only putting it back in just enough and then putting the bypass back in place and see if that helps.
    It is possible that the turbine is getting pushed to far into the housing and thus not able to spin as free as it should.
    Water passing through it should push it more to the bypass fitting.

  3. #3
    DIY Senior Member SteveW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    1,042

    Default

    Thanks -- good point, will try that.

  4. #4
    DIY Senior Member mialynette2003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ocala, Florida
    Posts
    666

    Default

    Check and see if the magnets are out just a tad. The will bind causing it not to spin.

  5. #5
    DIY Senior Member SteveW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    1,042

    Default

    I pulled the unit again today and again the turbine spins just fine on its axle when it's out of the softener. When I put it back into the softener, I left it out just a little and then pushed the bypass tubes into the softener, then pulled it apart again - it caused the turbine and housing to seat fully in the same place where it was before.

    The magnets are flush, too.

    I'm stumped. I wonder if the electronics are bad? That doesn't seem to be a likely failure mode (that it would read some pulses but not all pulses) but who knows?

  6. #6
    In the Trades Akpsdvan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    One thing to check, it is a little tricky because you are trying to hold the turbine while holding the sensor end over the turbine and blow... if the turbine spins and the flow shows up on the display then I would say that the turbine blades are not right from the factory, they are a bit long and hitting the housing that they should be clearing.
    Now if the spinning does not show up on the display, it could be the sensor is bad and not getting the full signal.

  7. #7
    In the Trades Akpsdvan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    One thing to check, it is a little tricky because you are trying to hold the turbine while holding the sensor end over the turbine and blow... if the turbine spins and the flow shows up on the display then I would say that the turbine blades are not right from the factory, they are a bit long and hitting the housing that they should be clearing.
    Now if the spinning does not show up on the display, it could be the sensor is bad and not getting the full signal.

Similar Threads

  1. Digital water softener manual regeneration mode?
    By myaroch in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-11-2010, 08:53 PM
  2. Frequency of regeneration
    By TWEAK in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 05-16-2010, 07:54 AM
  3. Culligan water softener stuck on regeneration
    By shiv in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-22-2010, 07:41 AM
  4. Culligan Mark 812 stuck in regeneration
    By Joleene777 in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-03-2010, 10:17 PM
  5. Water Softener Regeneration
    By jbschaefer1 in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-08-2006, 04:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •