High Boiler Pressure

Users who are viewing this thread

E_Chorn

Reaction score
Since I'm pretty new to the DIY'ing, I was hoping someone would be able to help me out...

I have in-floor heating as my primary heating system, which also heats my DHW through an indirect. The boiler has been sitting around 33-35psi for the last little while, causing my PRV to release water on a semi-regular basis. I originally thought my expansion tank was the issue. It's 9 years old and was full of water. I replaced it a couple weeks ago, and the boiler pressure evened out at around 20psi.

Now, about 2 1/2 weeks later, my PRV is leaking again. Was hoping it was just a faulty valve after the workout it got before, unfortunately I checked my boiler, and the pressure is back up to ~33-35psi. Any thoughts or ideas on what could be going wrong here?

Tom Sawyer

In the Trades
Reaction score
Drop the pressure to 15 lbs and shut off the water feed. If the pressure climbs you have an expansion tank issue. If it falls, you have a leak.

E_Chorn

Reaction score
I can't seem to get the pressure to drop... before I could get it to drop by releasing water through the PRV. Now it's staying consistent at above 30... any suggestions?

Also; the tank was pressurized at 15 when I bought it. Checked on it now, and the pressure on the tank is sitting at around 26

Last edited:

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
When the system is closed, the tank will read the same as the water pressure. You can only preset that pressure when there's no water pressure on the other side. Did you shut the autofill valve out of the circuit? If it is leaking, it will keep the pressure high. If your water pressure gauge is not reading the same as the expansion tank, then one or the other gauges is wrong. Other causes of high pressure could be a leak in the IWH heat exchanger.

E_Chorn

Reaction score