Does poor venting mean a failing water heater

Users who are viewing this thread

nrmedic

Reaction score
Newbie here. I have searched the web but cannot find a straight forward answer so wanted to ask y'all. I have 2 water heaters but noticed last week that the closet the NG one is in is very hot. Have not checked my vent pipe yet for obstrution but will tonight. I will also try the lighter test to see if the flame draws into a the vent. So if there is no obstruction in the pipe could poor updraft be a sign of a failing water heater? It is 13yrs old but never have any problems.ater is hot and plenty of it, never run out. Now I live in Texas and we are having record heat this summer so could that affect the updraft? There are days it's been 113° so I know it is hotter on the roof. The vent pipe is 4" metal and goes straight up to a dedicated gas vent out the roof. All of the websites I've read mention vent pipe obstruction but don't address what else could affect a normally well venting heater. Thank you for your time.

Ballvalve

General Engineering Contractor
Reaction score
Its a sign of poor venting. Had a few with pipes filled with crud down to about a 2" pipe. Pull a brush through it or change it out.

nrmedic

Reaction score
Ok. Just disconnected the vent pipe. Clean with no obstructions. Roof vent also clean. Prior to this I turned the temp up so the unit would heat up. Let it run for 5 minutes and did the flame test at the vent hood. The flame blows away and not drawn in. Any thoughts?

nrmedic

Reaction score
Also I have noticed over the past couple of years there is a light coating of this sediment that accumulates on top pf the tank. Not a soot but more like sand in appearance and texture. Think it is rust?

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score