How do I replace this pex fitting w/o buying a special tool?

Users who are viewing this thread

Blown

Engineer
Reaction score
I'm getting ready to install tile in my bathroom and realized i need to remove the shutoff valve for the toilet so that I only have to drill a hole in the tile for the tube itself. The shutoff valve is attached directly to the PEX and I don't have tools for that. What's my best course of action here?

IMG_0142.jpg

BillyJoeJimBob

Reaction score
I do tile for a living. Is that Pex coming out of the floor? You should be able to disassemble the valve, and make a hole large enough to get around the valve, but still be covered by the escucheon cover. If a little shows, it might not be such a big deal. Grout hides a lot of sins.

Otherwise, Home Depot sells "sharkbite" brand valves, etc... that work with pex and can adapt from it to copper, etc... You should be able to find a way to transistion from Pex to standard fittings, or at least find a Sharkbite fitting that will work.

Is that wood you are getting ready to set tile too? What kind of tile, etc... ?

Blown

Engineer
Reaction score
Thanks, I'll try that.

I have a thread over in the remodeling forum about the tile. That's plywood that I just put down in the pic. I just cut out the Ditra for it tonight and will install it tomorrow. Then hopefully later in the week the ceramic tile will go in.

Rmelo99

Network Engineer
Reaction score

Blown

Engineer
Reaction score
Thanks!

How do these stack up as far as being robust and durable? I've never quite trusted push fittings that rely on o-rings.

BillyJoeJimBob

Reaction score
Is "Ditra" some kind of modified thin-set?

You aren't planning on setting tile directly to any kind of wood, are you?