(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Splicing a Ground Wire

  1. #1
    DIY Senior Member molo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    cold new york
    Posts
    840

    Default Splicing a Ground Wire

    Hello,

    A ground wire was torn during excavation. Can this be spliced or does a new wire have to be run?

    Thanks,
    Bill
    "Any American who is prepared to run for President should automatically, by definition, be disqualified from ever doing so."
    Gore Vidal.

  2. #2
    Electrician ActionDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    326

    Default

    Need some more information to give anything other than a general answer, but any wire that is broken is allowed to be repaired. How it is repaired depends on what kind of ground wire it is.

  3. #3
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,624

    Default

    By "ground wire" do you mean a "wire in the ground" or a "grounding" wire? There are few "single" ground wires which could, or would, be where an excavator could damage them, unless it was doing something like interconnecting power line towers, or poles.
    Licensed residential and commercial plumber

  4. #4
    Consultant cwhyu2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cincinnati OH
    Posts
    1,330

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hj View Post
    By "ground wire" do you mean a "wire in the ground" or a "grounding" wire? There are few "single" ground wires which could, or would, be where an excavator could damage them, unless it was doing something like interconnecting power line towers, or poles.
    That is what I have been wondering about.

  5. #5
    DIY Senior Member molo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    cold new york
    Posts
    840

    Default

    It's a grounding wire (bare copper) that is run into the ground attached to grounding rods. It was torn by the excavator.

    Thanks,
    Bill
    "Any American who is prepared to run for President should automatically, by definition, be disqualified from ever doing so."
    Gore Vidal.

  6. #6
    Electrical Contractor Jim Port's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    156

    Default

    The conductor can be repaired, but, it must be repaired with an exothermic connection like a Cadweld or an irreversible crimp. It might be easier to just replace it from the panel to the first rod.

  7. #7
    DIY Senior Member molo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    cold new york
    Posts
    840

    Default

    Thanks,
    How do I achieve an irreversible crimp? This sounds easier than a weld.

    Bill
    "Any American who is prepared to run for President should automatically, by definition, be disqualified from ever doing so."
    Gore Vidal.

  8. #8
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by molo View Post
    Thanks,
    How do I achieve an irreversible crimp? This sounds easier than a weld.

    Bill
    The tool cost a lot of money
    Jusst replace the wire

  9. #9
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,624

    Default

    The ground wire should be so close to the building that he should have damaged the house at the same time. But, it should also be such a short route that replacing it would be easier than going to the trouble of locating a crimping tool and the splices.
    Licensed residential and commercial plumber

  10. #10
    Electrical Contractor Jim Port's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    156

    Default

    Here are some reasons replacing the wire is more economical.

    http://www.buycheapr.com/us/result.j...+crimping+tool

Similar Threads

  1. Wire splicing question
    By charp in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-24-2011, 01:13 AM
  2. Need to add ground wire
    By rayh78 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-03-2009, 04:03 PM
  3. Does a ground wire nut need to be in a box?
    By Ian Gills in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-26-2009, 08:33 AM
  4. Ground wire
    By kregas in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-27-2008, 05:56 PM
  5. Ground Wire???
    By Fuoti in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-24-2008, 07:43 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •