(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Wire splicing question

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member charp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Grass Valley, CA
    Posts
    19

    Default Wire splicing question

    I'm wondering if it's OK to splice the wire that's running from the meter main at the street to the sub-panel in the house? It's underground and it's in the way of some excavation I need to do to get a storage container behind the garage. Eventually I will replace and upgrade the 100amp zinsco main to 200 amps, add a 200amp sub with manual switch for a generator in the garage and a new 100-150 sub in the house. For now I just need to get the buried wire in a new location and buried deeper. Thanks

  2. #2
    Electrician ActionDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    326

    Default

    Yes, it is ok if you have the proper splice kit and the wires are not in conduit.

  3. #3
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    Who is going to do that work??? Sound like this is not a DIY friendly project.

  4. #4
    In the Trades SacCity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    189

    Default

    I was unclear,
    Are you talking about the line from the main panel to the sub-panel

    Or are you talking about the service feed from the Utility to the main panel.

    If you are talking about the service feed, in most places you do not own that line, and you would need to have the utility do the work,
    Michael
    Michael
    Sac City Plumbing
    http://SacCityPlumbing.com

  5. #5
    Electrician ActionDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    326

    Default

    Good point.

  6. #6
    DIY Junior Member charp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Grass Valley, CA
    Posts
    19

    Default

    It's the cable/wire running underground in conduit (looks like ABS, it's black) from the meter main panel to the sub in the house, not the wire running from the pole to the meter. No, I'm not afraid to do it!

  7. #7
    In the Trades SacCity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    189

    Default

    Cool, it's your wire then do what you want to with it. Be safe, don't work on live circuits.
    If you have a splice in the wire make sure that it is accessable.
    If it is a temperarry splice I like to mount a box on a 4X4 do the splice there and then route to where-ever you need.

    I do not like conections below grade.
    Had one job that should have been simple pull an existing wire out of a conduit and replace with a new wire, not sure why we were doing that, the fog of time takes its toll.
    Ended up with a line splice somewhere in the yard. So we were unable to pull the wire, which ment a new trench and new conduit. So much for saving a bit on not doing a proper junction box that could have been located.
    Michael
    Michael
    Sac City Plumbing
    http://SacCityPlumbing.com

  8. #8
    Test, Don't Guess! cacher_chick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Land of Cheese
    Posts
    3,150

    Default

    As Dave stated, you are not allowed to put a splice inside conduit.

  9. #9
    General Engineering Contractor ballvalve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    northfork, california
    Posts
    3,261

    Default

    We set cement boxes with electric on the cover, do the splice with a split bolt, ball it in electricians putty, and then wrap it in rubber splice tape and then scotch 33. I try and finish with silicone or a vinyl paste for more water resistance.

    You can do it in-line with the correct couplers and then use a good shrink tube to seal it, along with the tapes for security. This is likely the better solution.

Similar Threads

  1. Splicing feed to sub panel
    By devans175 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-25-2009, 03:39 AM
  2. Wire size question
    By jparrie in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-20-2008, 04:46 PM
  3. spliced 10 -3 wire question
    By capnwill in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-26-2007, 07:00 AM
  4. Splicing into existing 3" PVC sewer line
    By Niles in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-29-2006, 07:50 PM
  5. splicing in a new drain
    By jasonb in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-28-2006, 05:50 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •