Pump and Tank stolen

Users who are viewing this thread

Dcorazal

Reaction score
I am buying a side by side duplex (double bungalow) that has had all the pluming stolen including the well and tank.
I have little experience with wells but have done a lot of research and have a few questions about the well install and hope I can get some expert advice.
Here’s what I know so far:
1: The house was built in 1961 and I can’t find any records from the city regarding the well. I assume that the well casing is the original.
2: I measured the bottom of the well at 125’ and the static level at 85’.
3: The well casing is 6†and is in “a pit†under the front step.
My plan is to drop a submersible pump down 100’ with 160psi poly pipe. I have researched the procedure and my local ******* sells most all the fittings that I need. That should put my pump about 23’ from the bottom and 17’ from the static level. As far as I can tell this should be fine?
I have a couple of questions:
1: I have no idea how many gallons per minute the well will produce so I am going to try a ¾ hp 10gpm pump and hope that will be okay. Could someone give me any advice as to test the gpm?

2: At the top of the well I am using a well cap with 3 holes in it one for the 1 ¼ pipe one for the vent and one for the wiring. I have 2 questions here. Where do I run the safely cable through and what fitting should I use at the top of the poly pipe to turn and go to the pressure tank. I can’t seem to find a 90 degree barbed elbow? I have seen a couple of pictures of a “T†at the top of the well cap, one plugged and one side running to the tank.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com