(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: GFCI on Freezer Circuit

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member Mike Turner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Laurinburg NC
    Posts
    12

    Default GFCI on Freezer Circuit

    I have our small freezer in my shop. It is on a circuit without a GFCI . I would like to put a GFCI in the circuit but worry but worry about it tripping and losing the contents of the freezer BUT I know I need one on that line. Anyone ever had this happen ?

    Would love to bring it in house but I don't see that happening but the GFCI is going in for my safety sake.

  2. #2
    Test, Don't Guess! cacher_chick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Land of Cheese
    Posts
    3,140

    Default

    A properly working GFCI will not trip unless something plugged into it has a ground fault. If you are worried about it, you could consider a power loss alarm on the circuit or a high temp alarm on the freezer.

    On the other hand, the majority of the appliances in homes are NOT protected by a GFCI, and I cannot recall the last time I heard of a homeowner being killed by an appliance with a ground fault. That's not to say it doesn't happen, but I think it is more common in portable devices than it is in major appliances.

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member Mike Turner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Laurinburg NC
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Well I should have mentioned this..It is in shop where I do use some tools...Thats what my safety concern was about ..Thanks

  4. #4
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    For the tools, why not get some extension cords with built in GFI?? Despite assurances that a GFI will not nuisance trip...do you want to lose you entire catch of venison from last season in case it DOES happen?

  5. #5
    In the Trades SacCity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    189

    Default

    GFIC is not required for dedicated circuits to appliances,
    I would recomend not placing a GFIC plug on the freezer,
    But on the subsiquent plugs a GFIC is recomended,(Required)
    Michael
    Michael
    Sac City Plumbing
    http://SacCityPlumbing.com

  6. #6
    Test, Don't Guess! cacher_chick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Land of Cheese
    Posts
    3,140

    Default

    If it's a garage or similar outbuilding, it is supposed to be a GFCI.

    If it were my garage and I was worried about it, I would just install GFCI receptacles in those locations where I commonly plug in extension cords and power tools.

Similar Threads

  1. Two GFCI Breakers in one circuit?
    By jmartin in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-07-2010, 04:00 PM
  2. Wiring Bathroom/GFCI Circuit
    By 41Fever in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-19-2010, 05:08 AM
  3. NC Electrical Code - 20A GFCI Circuit in bathroom
    By WalterHego in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-21-2009, 11:12 AM
  4. Refrigerator problem: freezer keeps defrosting
    By SD44 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-26-2008, 07:39 AM
  5. Don't use extension cord for freezer?
    By SD44 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-18-2008, 05:09 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •