Ceramic Floor tile adhesive cure time

Users who are viewing this thread

Brian.Hoard

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm remodeling a small bathroom and am installing 12" ceramic tiles on the floor.
Since I'm not a pro at this, I opted for the ready-mix adhesive that I picked up at Home Depot (AcrylPro Ceramic Tile Adhesive) to give me more time before it dries.

The directions says it can be walked on in 24 hours, so I waited 72 just to be sure.
I did my center tiles 3 days ago, and today as I was installing the tiles around the wall, one of the center ones cracked as I stepped on it. To my surprise, when I pulled it up, the adhesive was still very wet under the tile. Not completely wet like when newly laid down, but soft and could be smeared easily.

So I'm wondering now how long do I need to wait for the tiles to dry? Or how can I know when they're dry so I don't walk on them too early.

Thanks for any help.

- Brian

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score
You might not get the kind of answer you are hoping for since NO professional tile man would use ready-mix adhesive to install ceramic tile.

Rhoni T

Reaction score
I have used this before and it only took over night to dry. I also used this because I was installing tiles in my bathroom about 50 tiles and did this as I had time. ie: fulltime job/part-time job and 3 boys sporting events, too boot a single mom; at the time

The temperature has a lot to due with your drying time, and in VA I'm gonna say the humidity too. I lived in AR in the river valley and humidity had a lot to due with the drying time. My Uncle told me to use this so I didn't have to mess with the mixing stuff, and he was a contractor, who knew I had to do things all on my own. And he was the one that told me about the humidity and temperature.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score