I dont know What backflow preventer to buy

Users who are viewing this thread

Innerbeast101

Reaction score
I was wondering if i need a backflow with a vent or not the old one was leaking and i suggested we replace it everything is old and everyone is always trying to save but i like the comfort of new stuff but i thought the bfp was dirty or maybe a washer inside im no expert with them but do i need a vented bfp.

JohnjH2o1

Plumbing Contractor for 49 years
Reaction score
What type of application are you using it for? If the existing one is a RPZ (vented device) then chances are it should be replaced with the same device. Most commercial properties require vented devices. The type of device is dependent on the severity of the risk to backflow.

John

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
It depends on what the application is. Most BFPs and ALL vacuum breakers have a "vent" of some kind. But whether you can use an atmospheric one, a "pressure vacuum breaker", a "double check", or need an RPPBFP depends on the local requirements as well a the application.

JohnjH2o1

Reaction score
It depends on what the application is. Most BFPs and ALL vacuum breakers have a "vent" of some kind. But whether you can use an atmospheric one, a "pressure vacuum breaker", a "double check", or need an RPPBFP depends on the local requirements as well a the application.

There is no vent on a DBL check.

John

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
A double check is NOT a vacuum breaker, but the Watts 9D double check DOES have a vent on it. And I did say "most", not "all" double checks, since fire sprinkler systems use unvented double check valves.

JohnjH2o1

Reaction score
The Watts 9d is not a DBL check it is a daul check, which in my area is not allowed as it can't be tested.

John

Tom Sawyer

In the Trades
Reaction score