(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: pressure system switch chatter

  1. #1

    Default pressure system switch chatter

    I have a pressurized lake pump system that I installed and it is kicking my butt! I can't seem to stop the pump chatter. After reading your other post, I might have figured the problem out. But am unsure. I used a PRE-CHARGED bladder tank and the pump makes about 45 pounds. I think the tank is pre-charged to 28 PSI (which would be too high for the cut-in pressure on the switch). Would this be my problem or should the check valve be in a different spot other than out by the filter in the lake (like normal systems) , ORRRRR? This forum is really informative and I would respect any of your answers. One other thing the owner has a PVC lake screen with an internal check valve. It is not like the brass ones we use and it may be slow acting. I have done many pressurized system over the years and this never has happened.
    Last edited by rfrrace; 07-04-2011 at 12:57 PM. Reason: more info supplied

  2. #2
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,679

    Default

    Are you sampling the pressure at the pump or at the Tee? If at the pump, try at the Tee. Square D makes a version of switch with a pulsation plug.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LLigetfa View Post
    Are you sampling the pressure at the pump or at the Tee? If at the pump, try at the Tee. Square D makes a version of switch with a pulsation plug.
    I had tried both ways. Right now, the tank and p-switch are at the other end of the main line. This is what I usually do with higher pressure pumps to slow down the speed of the pump catching up. I just did another one yesterday with the same pump and sampling at the pump. This was a repair with a different pump than original. It had a smaller (original) tank off the top of the pump and it works fine. This one had a regular brass check out by the lake screen. Most of my stuff has elevation to help me. This one does not.
    Could a tank that has too much PSI cause this to happen?

  4. #4
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,679

    Default

    On a tank precharged to 28 PSI, the pump should be set to kick in at about 30 PSI. If the pump is set to start at a lower pressure, let some air out of the tank.

  5. #5
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,644

    Default

    Welcome to Terry's Forum's rfrrace,


    What is the model of your pump ?


    DonL
    Last edited by DonL; 07-04-2011 at 05:45 PM.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  6. #6

    Default

    This is a real basic "Red Lion" 1.5 HP Centrifigal. It will make at best 45 PSI . 42-43 is usual.

  7. #7

    Default

    I know that and did not check it at the time, one of the biggest electrical storms in a while moved in while we were trying to finish. What I would like to know is, could that cause my problem (process of elimination).

  8. #8
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,679

    Default

    If there is too much precharge the tank cannot cushion the pulses from the pump so it's not unreasonable that the switch may bounce.

    Given the make and model of pump, I would guess that the pressure switch may be set to turn on at no more than 20 PSI and turn off at no more than 40 PSI.

  9. #9
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,644

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rfrrace View Post
    This is a real basic "Red Lion" 1.5 HP Centrifigal. It will make at best 45 PSI . 42-43 is usual.
    If the pre-charge is set for 28psi as indicated in your original post, then it should never turn off if the cut out is 50psi.

    I would try a tank pre-charge of 18 and a cutout of 40.

    That is about the best that you can expect if indeed your pump only makes 40 psi reliably. Or use a different pump.


    Enjoy your project.


    DonL


    P.S. It looks like the wrong pump for the job at hand. That pump is not made for use with a pressure tank.
    It is made for sprinkler systems and the like. I do believe.
    http://www.redlionproducts.com/v4/pd...01_1813442.pdf
    Last edited by DonL; 07-05-2011 at 09:48 AM. Reason: P.S.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DonL View Post
    If the pre-charge is set for 28psi as indicated in your original post, then it should never turn off if the cut out is 50psi.

    I would try a tank pre-charge of 18 and a cutout of 40.

    That is about the best that you can expect if indeed your pump only makes 40 psi reliably. Or use a different pump.


    Enjoy your project.

    DonL


    P.S. It looks like the wrong pump for the job at hand. That pump is not made for use with a pressure tank.
    It is made for sprinkler systems and the like. I do believe.
    http://www.redlionproducts.com/v4/pd...01_1813442.pdf
    The pump is not a high pressure pump, but is a very commonly used sprinkler pump in the area. The reason I use it is because the pumps work harder and cycle less with the hose users. I checked the tank pressure (with no pressure in the system) and not only was it too high, but was almost 10 PSI than factory spec. I dropped it to 17 PSI and the chatter seems to have gone away. Thanks everyone for all your suggestions and will keep this forum in my favorites!

  11. #11
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,679

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DonL View Post
    P.S. It looks like the wrong pump for the job at hand. That pump is not made for use with a pressure tank.
    Any pump will benefit from having a pressure tank to buffer the supply and limit cycling.

  12. #12
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,644

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LLigetfa View Post
    Any pump will benefit from having a pressure tank to buffer the supply and limit cycling.
    I agree, to a degree. I was just going by the manufacture recommendation, for that pump.
    It is made to run continuous, and not be cycled on and off.

    I am glad it is now working.


    Have a great day.


    DonL
    Last edited by DonL; 07-07-2011 at 04:00 AM.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

Similar Threads

  1. Pressure Switch Chatter & Check Valve location
    By azapplewhite in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-23-2008, 02:52 PM
  2. pressure switch chatter at cut in
    By lofty in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-25-2007, 07:51 AM
  3. Pressure Switch Chatter
    By Malabar329 in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-01-2007, 02:29 PM
  4. Pressure switch chatter
    By SeriousDIYer in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-17-2007, 12:57 PM
  5. Pump chatter/surge at pressure switch
    By jmdeng13 in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-29-2006, 11:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •