(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle

Thread: Non Electric Gas Boiler

Default Non Electric Gas Boiler

Years ago I had a house with a natural gas steam boiler controlled by a milliivolt thermostat. When the power went out my boiler kept running having no need for electricity. As a builder we have a few clients looking to have their heat not be electric grid dependent. Anything made today that's more modern and effocient than my old unit that might do the same using NG or propane?

check with your local propane dealer and/or the public utilty that supplies natural gas. That's what I would do.
    I am definitely not a pro plumber, but I am a pro crastinator

Old-school high-mass steam or gravity-feed convecting hydronic systems rarely exceed ~60% efficiency, but there's no inherent reason a properly sized lower mass steam boiler with millivolt controls couldn't hit 70-75%. I'm not sure that would meet minimum efficiency & valving safety standards for legal sale in the US though.

Convecting millivolt wall furnaces exist (probably operating in the ~75% efficiency range), eg:

http://www.empirecomfort.com/EMPIREC...llFurnaces.pdf

There are probably low-voltage DC versions that could run code-legal valves, but it still wouldn't meet code on minimum efficiency.

To get higher AFUE efficiency than 78% usually requires some sort of blower or pump to generate sufficient turbulence for more effective heat exchange.

http://www.empirecomfort.com/EMPIREC...fficientDV.pdf

But Dana, he wants to know if he can get a new one and as far as I know the present energy standards won't allow anying with a standing pilot for heating.

For hydronic boilers 80% AFUE is achievable and legal with standing pilot ignition, but that requires pumps and some power to run the gas valves.