(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Secondary condensate drain installation

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member Atom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    16

    Default Secondary condensate drain installation

    Both of my AC units are in my attic so I want to make sure the secondary drain is working properly. I just had one unit replaced. The primary drain is working and piped to the house sewer system. The secondary drain on the collector pan is capped, but there is a large pan under the entire evaporator which would capture any water dripping out of the bottom of the evaporator. If the collector pan overflows, then the condensate would just have to find its way out however it could. My other unit has the secondary drain hole open so that if the level in the internal pan gets above the primary drain, then it will flow out the secondary drain into the overflow pan and out to the telltale pipe. However, because the hole is open, some cold air is always flowing out that hole and into the attic. My question is, can the secondary drain be connected in such a way that it will it will work reliably, but without the air leakage? What's the best practice for the secondary drain?

  2. #2
    DIY Junior Member Atom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    16

    Default

    I have learned there is a product called a wet switch which will detect the presence of water in the secondary pan and turn off the AC when it happens. My evaporator case is such that I could install one of these on the inside of the condenser. Is this ever done?

  3. #3
    Retired prof. engr. gator37's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    108

    Default

    If you have an aux condensate drain pan under the indoor unit you can put a float switch that set so when detects a certain water level it will shut of the unit. This is in lieu of the aux drain to the outside.

  4. #4
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Albuquerque NM
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I would use a Safety Overflow Switch. I didn't need a pan in mine, so I just put the SOS on the secondary drain port. Diversitech makes a nice one for that.

Similar Threads

  1. Vent needed on condensate drain?
    By TJanak in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-29-2010, 04:42 PM
  2. Vent needed on condensate drain?
    By TJanak in forum HVAC Heating & Cooling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-24-2010, 06:48 PM
  3. Can I Tap Into Drain Pipe to Drain Condensate From High Efficiency Furnace
    By oskarjones in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-06-2010, 06:20 PM
  4. Condensate pump drain
    By prashster in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-13-2006, 06:56 AM
  5. Condensate Drain and no floor drain nearby
    By Lakee911 in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-19-2005, 10:05 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •