(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Help with three duplex plugs

  1. #1

    Default Help with three duplex plugs

    I would like to run three duplex plugs. One from a three wire coming in from the middle. I bought 14/3 wire and I find it has four wires. What do I do with the other wire? Also how do I wire it? Three duplex plugs. One in the middle and one on each side. Series is fine because nothing is on them .

  2. #2
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,382

    Default

    You can cap the unused wire (I think). While you can daisy-chain the receptacles, you can't run them in series (they must be wired in parallel if you understand the distinction of series/parallel). Just use the box in the middle as a junction box and branch off to each of the others. Or just go to one, then around back to the other. There is a code issue about box fill, so the quantity of wires and cables in the box will mandate a minimum size of the box - you have to have enough room to bring the wires in, make the connections, and then mount the receptacle in place without it being too cramped.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  3. #3

    Default

    Thanks for the info. If you picture a "Y" three wires in at one duplex receptacle, then branching off at each side. How do I wire the last ones ?

  4. #4
    Electrician ActionDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    326

    Default

    The romexes going left and right tie to the incoming power and a short piece of wire is added under each wire nut to attach the receptacle. It's called "pig tailing".

  5. #5
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    There is not a device box that is big enough for three 3 conductor cables and a device so you should take the cable to one of the boxes on the end and then to the middle and the last box

  6. #6
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,676

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tomcola View Post
    I bought 14/3 wire and I find it has four wires. What do I do with the other wire?
    A 14/3 will give you two hots, a neutral, and a ground. They are often used for wiring three-way switches and for wiring switched split receptacles. Since you have the third wire, you could split your receptacles and wire the top plug through a light switch.
    Last edited by LLigetfa; 06-06-2011 at 04:56 AM.

  7. #7
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tomcola View Post
    I would like to run three duplex plugs. One from a three wire coming in from the middle. I bought 14/3 wire and I find it has four wires. What do I do with the other wire? Also how do I wire it? Three duplex plugs. One in the middle and one on each side. Series is fine because nothing is on them .
    WHat you really needed was 14/2. The complete designation of the wire you got is 14/3 w/g ( with ground...a bare copper wire.) You just need 14/2 w/g. 14/3 would be used for 3 wire circuits, which is beyond the scope of this discussion

  8. #8
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,615

    Default

    quote; One from a three wire coming in from the middle.

    WE, or at least I, have no idea what that means, but it could indicate several different issues all of which are completely different and would require specific wiring to extend them. The key item is that since you do NOT know where the "fourth wire" goes, you may not have the proper experience to do what you want to. The results of improper wiring range from a tripping circuit breaker, to injury or death, all the way up to a burned down house.

    quote; 14/3 would be used for 3 wire circuits

    Or a "split circuit", or a switched outlet on a duplex receptacle, or.........

Similar Threads

  1. Change single receptacle to a duplex?
    By cej22 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-01-2009, 09:52 AM
  2. Insulating exposed pipes in bottom unit of duplex
    By Vermont homeowner in forum HVAC Heating & Cooling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-15-2008, 04:50 AM
  3. Bathtubs for New Rental Duplex
    By DL in forum Shower & bathtub Forum & Blog
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-01-2008, 06:30 PM
  4. Toilets for Rental Duplex
    By DL in forum Toilet Forum discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-30-2008, 08:57 PM
  5. Repiping my two story duplex
    By Guest in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-04-2006, 07:43 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •