(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Subpanel location question

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member cbuehler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Davis, CA
    Posts
    5

    Default Subpanel location question

    I'm planning for a spa. My panel is full, and there's no opportunity to replace existing breakers with tandems (have them already). It's just plain full. I need two, 25A feeders from the panel for the spa GFCI (50A)... or two "slots". The space just isn't there.

    The only option I can think of is a subpanel. But unlike most other forum posters, I'm not putting this in a garage, basement or closet. I assume you can install a subpanel on an exterior wall near the main panel, as long as it meets the spacing req's... 36" depth, 30" width, etc.? I'd have to put it about 5 feet to the side of the main panel. Something like this Eaton 34824 125 Amp, 6 Spaces, 12 Circuit Outdoor Main Lug Load Center: I'll consult an electrician, but I assume you cannot tie this load center directly into the main panel bus bar... and that this 125A sub-panel will require feeders also? If it does, then I would have to re-locate some load from the main panel and distribute through this new sub-panel.

    Swapping the main panel for a larger one sounds like a bigger job than adding a sub-panel, but maybe not after all is said and done.

    thanks for your thoughts on this!
    Last edited by cbuehler; 06-05-2011 at 12:53 PM. Reason: added attl info

  2. #2
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,432

    Default

    A sub-panel is just that, a panel powered by a main panel. So, the power into that subpanel must come through a breaker(s) in the main panel. Depending on the age and brand of current panel, there may be a good reason to install a new, larger one. Depending on your service drop, with the additions, it may be a good idea to upgrade the service to a higher amperage, but that would depend on what you have and your planned total load.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member cbuehler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Davis, CA
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Right. So this is a fairly new panel... a Cutler-Hammer, 225A service panel. I have 20 breakers in there. I added solar last year and that chewed-up the last two empty slots.

  4. #4
    Electrical Contractor Jim Port's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    156

    Default

    In that case I think the subpanel would be the way to go.

    BTW a spa that requires 50 amps is not fed by 2 25 amp legs. It would be fed with 2 50 amp legs.

  5. #5
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,432

    Default

    WHen I had my kitchen redone, I wanted individual breakers for all of the appliances and to separate some of the things that had been ganged in the old one. The new subpanel is right next to the main, and actually has about twice the space in it. Depends on how much room you have where the original is where the best location for the new one is.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

Similar Threads

  1. Question about subpanel
    By wjones4 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-02-2009, 04:53 PM
  2. subpanel ground rod location and installation
    By leejosepho in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 11-05-2007, 10:38 AM
  3. Subpanel Location
    By Jed54 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-04-2007, 12:45 PM
  4. Subpanel Circuit Question
    By mln in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-20-2007, 06:45 AM
  5. oil tank location question
    By fsteyer in forum Remodel Forum & Blog
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-19-2005, 05:04 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •