Newbie Faucet Identification

Users who are viewing this thread

SimonTuffGuy

Reaction score
Evening everyone... Found your forum by a random Google image search and figured that maybe you could help. Wife and I purchased our house 2 years ago and have been dealing with a minor shower leak since day one. I'm a bit of a newbie to home repair, but like to try things for the knowledge and experience. I'm pretty technical and can follow a set of instructions, so here's where I'm at...

The leak does not go back into the access panel. It seems like it drips out of the back of the spout, behind the shower wall, and then along the top of the tub and down to the floor. The previous owners of the house had some wooden trim pieces in place along the wall, it was all caulked and seemed to be water tight (in this case bad, since the water was running along that channel)... Anyways - Here's a shot of the spout:
main.php

main.php

So... A replacement for that seems to be fairly easy (or... so I'd think)... Here's the pipe coming out of the wall. You can see how the bottom of the shower wall looks damp (compared to above the faucet):
main.php

Any recommendations on a good replacement for this? Should I find something that goes onto the current pipe, or replace that pipe with something new as well? It's 3/4" if that helps to recommend a decent replacement.

Now - while we're in there making changes... Why not look to replace the facuet or handle as well, right? This is what is in place now, it has American Standard stamped on the bottom of it:
main.php

Last edited:

SimonTuffGuy

Reaction score
And then without the trimmings:
main.php

When we were looking at some of the replacement pieces at Lowe's tonight... There didn't seem to be anything that would've fit. Screw hole to screw hole is 3", and the length of the cartridge (I think that's what I've seen it called around here anyways) is like 1" out to the base.