Another Pitless Adapter Question

Users who are viewing this thread

Mortal798

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I am having well problems. My 1/2 hp 230v pump runs all the time 24/7. It puts out 22psi and 3gpm. The pressure never gets high enough to trip the switch off. I need to pull the pump.

The pitless adapter in my well is one that I can't find any mention of excpt here.

Anybody ever see one of these? How do you get it to let go? I am an Auto Tech Instructor, so I can fix just about anything. I have never had to deal with anyting like this, so any help would be HUGE!

Thanks!

Mortal798

Reaction score
Pitless picture

pitless adapter.jpg

Here is the pic...

Mortal798

Reaction score
I am starting to think that I just need to pry up on the tab near the pin. As you can see from the pic, there is no safety cable attached to the pump. Is that a good sign - like the pump isn't very far down? Or is it a bad sign - like the company that installed it was too cheap to attach a rope to the pump?

Mortal798

Reaction score
Oh, this is a 5" well, the pitless is exactly 4' below grade, and the water is 18' below grade. I have no idea how deep the well is or how deep the pump is set, but I am hoping not too deep...

Mortal798

Reaction score
;)Man, I thought for sure somebody was going to bust out with all of the information by now!;)

Should I just make a hook and go for it?:confused:

WellWaterProducts

In the trades
Reaction score
It has been over 15 years since I removed one of those. I think that the rod has a lot to do with releasing it. Post a picture of the top of your well.

WellWaterProducts

In the trades
Reaction score
Look at the link for the product and it takes you to installation instructions. From what I remember, you need to be very careful when removing it to not lose the oring.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com