(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Ground Rod Placement

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member SETexas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Southeast Texas
    Posts
    12

    Post Ground Rod Placement

    I was just wondering if I needed another ground rod at my shed because of how far my shed is from the main ground rod at the house.Name:  House electricity.jpg
Views: 774
Size:  16.5 KB

  2. #2
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,661

    Default

    Hello SETexas,

    Would not hurt for extra lightening protection.

    You can never have to many grounds, In Texas. The Deeper the better.

    Have a Great Day.

    DonL


    P.S. Are You asking, about needing to meet electrical code ?
    Last edited by DonL; 05-06-2011 at 01:14 PM. Reason: P.S.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  3. #3
    Licensed Electrical Contractor Speedy Petey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NY State, USA
    Posts
    976

    Default

    The distance has nothing to do with it.
    If the shed has a sub-panel in it then it REQUIRES a grounding electrode. If it is only fed with a circuit then no ground rod is required, or needed IMO.

    In typical AC building wiring ground rods serve VERY little purpose.

  4. #4
    Test, Don't Guess! cacher_chick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Land of Cheese
    Posts
    3,154

    Default

    Yea, what he said.

    You can only have a single circuit in an outbuilding, UNLESS you have a subpanel in the outbuilding, which would then require grounding rods.

  5. #5
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    As pointed out rods are required as well as an equipment grounding conductor installed with the feeders.
    Isolation of the neutral from the EGC and the grounding electrode conductor and panel enclosure.

  6. #6
    DIY Junior Member SETexas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Southeast Texas
    Posts
    12

    Default

    OK, subpanel you mean a breaker box? Yes I have a breaker box in shed fed from 100amp breaker in house.

  7. #7
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,428

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SETexas View Post
    OK, subpanel you mean a breaker box? Yes I have a breaker box in shed fed from 100amp breaker in house.
    that is what is called a subpanel.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  8. #8
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    Although called a “subpanel” in the trade there is no such item as “subpanel”

    To be correct it is a remote distribution panel.

    Call it whatever trips your trigger but it will require a grounding electrode system

  9. #9
    DIY Junior Member SETexas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Southeast Texas
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Thank You All!

  10. #10
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,659

    Default

    And if your dirt is very dry, you may need two ground rods 10' apart.

  11. #11
    Electrician frenchelectrican's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NE Wis / Paris France { In France now }
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hj View Post
    And if your dirt is very dry, you may need two ground rods 10' apart.
    Most place will ask for two ground rods unless you get someone with specal tester to verify if the ground is under 25 ohms { that can get very expensive to do that } so it cheaper just get two ground rods and be done with it and keep the rods at least 2 meter apart { 6 feet } or more.

    Merci,.
    Marc

Similar Threads

  1. CSV Placement
    By artbob in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-29-2009, 06:58 PM
  2. Filter Placement
    By 11thacr in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-13-2007, 09:54 AM
  3. Lav Faucet placement
    By dlr77057 in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-25-2007, 08:11 PM
  4. Air tub blower placement
    By dlr77057 in forum Shower & bathtub Forum & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-26-2006, 10:09 PM
  5. y placement
    By damorej in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-16-2005, 03:38 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •