(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: No Sub Panel?

  1. #1
    DIY Senior Member Briandl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    116

    Default No Sub Panel?

    I don't know if that's the correct terminology, but I've always seen setups like this:

    Main breaker panel outside near the meter. This panel would typically have very few breakers, for example I have one for a garage, one for my home, and a separate one for a 220 outlet.

    Then inside my home I have a sub panel that contains additional breakers that turn off specific sections of my home.

    So for example one breaker outside can turn off the entire home, then inside many breakers can turn off individual rooms, such as the kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, etc.

    On a relatives home I saw recently it only appears to have one panel outside by the meter. I haven't gone through it thoroughly but it has a lot of breakers, similar to what you'd typically see inside.

    Any thoughts on that? I was under the impression that you need to have one main breaker that can turn off power to the entire house. I don't know if there is something like that in the one breaker box outside.

    TIA

  2. #2
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    Yes, there has to be a service disconnect that is sometimes called the “main”.
    All the branch circuits or the breakers that turns everything off one at a time can be located either inside or outside.

    It is compliant to have the meter outside and the service disconnect inside with all the other breakers in that inside panel.

    All this is a design issue and is mostly the choice of the installer.

  3. #3
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,633

    Default

    Either way is proper. Sometimes it comes down to economics, which way uses the least wire to reach all the outlets in the house, and/or whether there is an appropriate location to install a subpanel.

  4. #4
    Test, Don't Guess! cacher_chick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Land of Cheese
    Posts
    3,146

    Default

    Often it depends on what part of the country you are located. You won't find any outdoor panels up here where it snows and blows. The houses all have one main panel with a main disconnect on the inside, as near to the service entrance as possible.

  5. #5

    Default

    The main breaker is most likely in that outside panel. There is no need for a separate panel. Take a closer look and you'll probably find a breaker marked for 100, 150, or 200 amps. This would most likely be the main for the house. It should be located at the top row or bottom row in the panel.

    -rick

  6. #6
    DIY Senior Member Rich B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    282

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cacher_chick View Post
    Often it depends on what part of the country you are located. You won't find any outdoor panels up here where it snows and blows. The houses all have one main panel with a main disconnect on the inside, as near to the service entrance as possible.

    Same thing in my area.....Meter outside.....panel inside very close to meter....main disconnect in that panel. Usually a 200 amp or larger service with todays electrical demands even if an older house gets a service change.......

    I was just in my next door neighbors basement helping him and noticed his servcie panel was like new...The house is old and that panel was done in '98.....probably when they bought it...200 amp panel.....Old one might have been flagged as needing replcament as a condition of the sale. I think it was a foreclosure and bank owned......Might have been so old it has glass fuses...mine did....

Similar Threads

  1. Using just a screwdriver to change out a 100 amp main panel to a new 200 amp panel
    By Ian Gills in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-19-2010, 06:08 AM
  2. Additional sub panel
    By tnbuilder in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-09-2009, 08:27 AM
  3. sub panel?
    By joe6677 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-15-2008, 03:36 AM
  4. Sub Panel
    By cbregan@msn.com in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-04-2008, 11:47 AM
  5. Square D panel?
    By Guest in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-21-2007, 08:25 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •