(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: XP crashed

  1. #1
    Consultant cwhyu2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cincinnati OH
    Posts
    1,330

    Default XP crashed

    My computer went down this afternoon and had to re install XP from a disc bummer lost everything now I wd
    would like to know if I can get it back and this is an older XP than I had.

  2. #2
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,681

    Default

    Unfortunately that question should have been asked before the disk got overwritten by the reinstall. Sorry for your loss.

  3. #3
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,651

    Default

    It depends how you re-installed it.

    If you low-Level reformatted the drive then it gone.

    Win XP install Disks give you some options to reinstall, without formatting.

    Some OEM disk use a ghost disk image, and reformat the drive.

    DonL
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  4. #4
    Consultant cwhyu2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cincinnati OH
    Posts
    1,330

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by DonL View Post
    It depends how you re-installed it.

    If you low-Level reformatted the drive then it gone.

    Win XP install Disks give you some options to reinstall, without formatting.

    Some OEM disk use a ghost disk image, and reformat the drive.

    DonL
    Guess I will have get a new machine.thanks

  5. #5
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,651

    Default

    Why would you need a new machine cwhyu2 ?

    The old ones work good.

    If you have XP SP2 at least then you should be good to go. What make of computer do you have ?

    HP and Compaq have the best system backup built in to a hard drive partition. Don't do much good if a hard drive fails.
    But can recover from a virus. As long as the virus does not screw up the partition sectors.

    Good Luck with Your project. XP is better than the newer OS. You have more control over it.

    I like Your Mustang. I like My 1970 GTO but cost to much to drive it.

    Enjoy Your Day.

    DonL.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  6. #6
    Consultant cwhyu2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cincinnati OH
    Posts
    1,330

    Default

    I got it working ok but no sound updated from sp1 to sp3 took over 15 hrs of downloading and installing may be worth it who knows
    Thanks guys!

  7. #7
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,651

    Default

    SP2 is the best.

    If you update to Sp3, expect problems.

    Sp3 was never made for older machines. They want you to buy a machine with Vista.

    If You need motherboard drivers then Tell us system model , and we can help you.

    SP3 will not have any more drivers for audio or video, for an older machine than your orginal OEM disk.

    Have a good Day.

    DonL
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  8. #8
    Consultant cwhyu2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cincinnati OH
    Posts
    1,330

    Default

    Thank you Don It is a dell computer it came with sp3 and a lot of windows office and other programs,it is still a good machine but I still do not like Dell. #4 cpu ,1.25 ram 33gb hard drive 53% free.

  9. #9
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,651

    Default

    Dell is OK.

    The OEM disk re formats the hard drive, if you need to reinstall it. Uses a Ghost Backup System.

    I never use automatic updates, Because You wake up some day after leaving it on the internet overnight,
    to find that it no longer works in the morning.

    Dell is OK, Windows Updates are not so much.

    Enjoy your evening.

    DonL
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  10. #10
    Consultant cwhyu2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cincinnati OH
    Posts
    1,330

    Default

    LOL Don now I know @ 3 o clock am to get the hammer out

  11. #11
    Master Plumber Redwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    7,463

    Default

    I found OS X version 10.6.7 to be a superior operating system that eliminates many of these problems you all are mentioning...

    It comes on Macs...

  12. #12
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,651

    Default

    Hello all,

    The Mac priced itself out of the market in the beginning of the PC. Twice the money.

    Giving them away to schools helped them, that was smart on their part.
    Most teachers and students got them at a discount, and needed them for school work.

    They are harder to work on when they do have simple electrical problems.

    How do the new ones work when running Windows apps ?

    I guess good software is now available, But in the beginning, Microsoft had better/more software available.


    Have a great day.

    DonL
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  13. #13
    Master Plumber Redwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    7,463

    Default

    Yea Don I guess they are more expensive but sometimes quality costs more...

    I don't know about harder to work on mine hasn't broken...

    I have managed to find whatever software I've wanted with no limitations wanted.

    Most of the things I have used such as Adobe PhotoShop actually seems to start and run much faster on the Mac...

  14. #14
    Consultant cwhyu2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cincinnati OH
    Posts
    1,330

    Default

    Got it working but it does not recignize sound card and only 16 bit res on moniter I will fix some how.
    Thanks Clay

  15. #15
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,651

    Default

    What is the model that you have Clay.

    I can steer you in the correct direction. Just need the exact Dell #.

    Or you can get the drivers from the Dell site.

    I think it is integrated on the motherboard.

    DonL
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

Similar Threads

  1. Has your computer crashed today? This may be why
    By Terry in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-28-2010, 06:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •