(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How do you make a none polarized Capacitor from 2 polarized Capacitors

  1. #1
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,652

    Default How do you make a none polarized Capacitor from 2 polarized Capacitors

    Hello Group,

    I remember years ago I made none polarized Capacitors from 2 polarized Capacitors.

    What I do not remember is if you hook the Positives together or do you hook the negatives
    together.

    I wanted to use 2 DC caps in an AC application.

    I need input from someone that can remember how to do it.

    I guess I am just getting to old to remember , the good stuff.

    Thanks for any input that you can provide.

    Have a Great Day.

    DonL

  2. #2
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,408

    Default

    You'd probably hook them up like diodes in a rectifier circuit so there would be a path that wouldn't blow the thing up. I think this is risky, as if one failed, you'd blow the other as well. And, if the value was critical, trying to find two matched would be really hard and probably more expensive than buying what you really needed in the first place.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  3. #3
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,652

    Default

    Hello Jim,

    I was going to use caps that I have already have , well rated over the RMS voltage that it will operate at.

    You may be correct that , buying the correct ones that I need may be better, but it is hard finding NP Caps at a
    good price. I have plenty others on hand.

    I am not sure what you are talking about when you say "hook them up like diodes in a rectifier circuit"

    I have used diodes back to back for protection, to limit voltage, but not sure what you mean with caps.

    They need to be in series and I realize that the voltage can not exceed 1 caps voltage value and the
    total capacity will be half of both equal value Caps.

    I just don't remember if it is + to + , or - to -, in the series circuit.

    Thank You.

    Have a great Day.

    DonL.

  4. #4
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,408

    Default

    What I was thinking, and I do not know if this will work, is to hook them up in parallel, with one plus and one minus on each end of the series circuit.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  5. #5
    DIY Junior Member david_griffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DonL View Post
    Hello Group,
    I wanted to use 2 DC caps in an AC application.
    I need input from someone that can remember how to do it.
    DonL
    Hi

    You have to connect negative together

    + - - +

  6. #6
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,652

    Default

    Thank You David,

    That is just what I did. I knew there was a way to make it work. I have used many. Just forgot. (Old Fart Age)

    Thank You. It works good and last a long time. Also saves money when you have usable caps on hand.

    Have a great day.

    DonL
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  7. #7
    DIY Junior Member david_griffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    25

    Default

    hehe :-)

    but remember the total capacitance is C/2 if you use the same capacitors :-) Permissible voltage increases twice.

  8. #8
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,652

    Default

    Good Morning,

    I knew that the capacitance would be half, but I thought the Max Voltage would be the rating of 1 cap
    because of the +--+ hookup.

    Connection of +-+- would be like You say, and maybe the other would be also, not sure. You could be correct.

    I always design overkill, 50% on what I build.
    I have very few problems with blown components that way, even if it cost more to build, I think it is worth it.

    Maybe I could test that theory with a smoke test.

    Thanks David.


    Have a great Day.


    DonL
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

Similar Threads

  1. Can bad heat pump capacitors cause power consumption to double?
    By jmaland in forum HVAC Heating & Cooling
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-18-2010, 11:16 AM
  2. Need Help Finding 0.75 mfd capacitor
    By SNYD in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-03-2009, 08:31 PM
  3. capacitor burn out
    By dragnuts in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-21-2009, 09:20 AM
  4. AC blower starting capacitor
    By Bobver in forum HVAC Heating & Cooling
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-30-2009, 11:19 AM
  5. Capacitor problems
    By chefkelbel in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-27-2008, 04:41 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •