Laundry/bath on slab - drainage

Users who are viewing this thread

dwhiteykc

Reaction score
plumbing.jpg
Looking for some DIY advice. Purchased a home that has the laundry in a bathroom with shower stall, toilet, sink and hot water heater...and no floor drain. Cutting a drain into the floor and joining to the toilet waste line may be an option, but I'm guessing there would be several lines we'd have to work around (and no idea how the floor was poured, material to excavate, etc..).

Was thinking it may be easier to at least use pans on the wash and water heater and run those drains to the existing ones for the washer and sink? Potential problems with that approach are; the pan drains are so low I wouldn't have much of a drop, and the part of the drain vertical (ABS) I'd have to cut into would be nearly flush to the floor. I've also heard there are potential issues mixing Sch 40 with ABS. I should have started this thread with the fact that I'm an amateur plumber at best! One idea was to build a low 'box' under the appliances - but I'm not confident how the front-loader would respond to a less-stable footing (and if it would walk across the floor with the pan in place, even on concrete).

I know the pan solution wouldn't do me any good in the instance of a blown line or toilet/sink failure -but it would at least give the water from the two most likely flood suspects somewhere to go.