(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: New Softener Install Questions

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member Bluffdad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Texas
    Posts
    5

    Default New Softener Install Questions

    Had a 1.5 cf Watts system with a Clack WS-1 valve installed. I'm on city water, total hardness runs 12-15 grains depending on the report from the city. It's a 2 person household, about 1900 sf, with a peak flow of 12 gpm from the bath. The installer programmed it for 40K, with 9 lbs of salt usage between generations leaving it up to the meter to decide when it should regenerate.

    I'm not sure this is the best program settings based on reading other posts. Unfortunately this isn't the CS electronics (that I can tell) and although it resembles the valve in every way, the program options don't come up.

    Has anyone any suggestions to make this an efficient salt user and give me a good feeling that is is programmed at the peak settings?

    I'm up for any berating that may follow.

  2. #2
    In the Trades Akpsdvan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    When I am doing a 1.5 cubic I am using a capacity of 33K with the 9lbs of salt.

    I would use the 15 grains in the programing, better to be a little on the high side than short.

    I do not have on hand the link , but if you look up the Clack home page there should be a part that has different programing of the different controls and valves that are out there.. I have them downloaded, but not the site from which they came from.

    Just my 2 cents worth.

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member Bluffdad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Texas
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks for your advice. I did find the manual for the valve on their website.

  4. #4
    DIY Junior Member Bluffdad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    South Texas
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Another question...do you suggest programming an override so it regenerates after a certain number of days or just leave it up to the meter based on water usage?

  5. #5
    In the Trades Akpsdvan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    You can use it with out the day over ride for now, if down the road you are finding that there is a change in the water say every x days and there is still some gallons left, you can either lower the gallons, or then bring in the over ride and use it so that in slow times the override and then in busy times the meter....

Similar Threads

  1. Water Softener questions
    By keyman in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-17-2010, 08:48 AM
  2. Kinnetico Softener Questions - Tannin, Etc.
    By srssrs in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-13-2009, 07:32 AM
  3. New Water Softener Install Question
    By Johnvickib in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 01-29-2009, 05:04 PM
  4. Hey all! Softener Install Question
    By theelviscerator in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-03-2007, 04:35 PM
  5. Water Softener install question
    By kquinnell in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-29-2006, 05:26 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •