(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 3 way switch outlet

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Default 3 way switch outlet

    I have an outlet that is controlled by two switches in the living room, we have a floor lamp plugged into one terminal on the outlet and the other side we wanted to use for the TV dvd etc etc but dont want it to be turned on and off with the light

    is there a way to isolate one terminal on the outlet to stay on on its on with out the light switch ?

  2. #2
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,678

    Default

    Yes, the side of the outlet has tabs that can be broken out to "split" the receptacle. Several of my rooms are wired so that the top outlet is switched and the bottom not.

  3. #3
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,678

    Default

    Oh, I should mention that the box needs to have the necessary conductors to provide continuous power to the other side of the receptacle and if it has not been so provisioned, splitting the receptacle would not work. There are code issues with regard to this as well so it is best to consult a licensed electrician, which I am not.

  4. #4
    In the Trades SacCity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    189

    Default

    The assumption is that you can not do as you want.
    You will need to count the conductors coming into the box, and trace out the wires,
    There are several ways of running the wires and without tracing them and counting conductors cannot give a hard answer to this query

    Michael

  5. #5

    Default

    I remember when I wired a 3 way switch in the basement it had an always hot ( red ) can I just tap off there to wire the bottom on the outlet after breaking off the tabs

  6. #6
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,678

    Default

    No, a properly wired 3-way will carry the neutral through and toggle the hot on one or the other carrier. If the neutral is being switched, it is wired wrong.

Similar Threads

  1. Light > Switch > Outlet
    By dan121 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-08-2010, 05:43 AM
  2. Light Switch to turn on wall outlet
    By coopns in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-08-2010, 04:22 PM
  3. GFCI Outlet Trips with Lights or Fan Switch
    By jdf405 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-23-2009, 11:04 AM
  4. GFCI outlet / 2 lights / switch at end of run
    By rioguia in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-30-2007, 08:56 PM
  5. How to make light switch/outlet connection.
    By bjferri in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-18-2007, 07:02 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •