Is this an S-Trap? Please help!!

Users who are viewing this thread

derbarrett

Reaction score
Hello All,

I am brand new to the plumbing world and have a couple of questions that I really need help with!!!
I am replacing the sink and vanity in my master bathroom, but there seems to be a small issue. The previous configuration had the sink drain into the floor instead of the wall.

1. All of the pics that I have seen online have the sink drain going into the wall (i this called a P trap?). In addition, all of the vanities that I have seen seem to be designed for the drain to go through the wall as well. Is my current configuration considered an S-Trap? If so, I have been doing some research and it seems like S-Traps do not meet plumbing code. Is this true?

2. My bathroom "floats" above my living room so there is huge I beam holding it up. This means that there is no room to run the drain pipe behind the wall because I would literally have to drill through the I beam. It seems like my only option to keep the configuration like it is now. Are there any other options?

3. I have attached a few picks. Pic 1 shows the floor drain. Pic 2 shows the I beam. Pic 3 shows the floating bathroom.

Thanks for your help!

Attachments

• IMG_0479.jpg
    IMG_0479.jpg
    54 KB · Views: 1,281
  • IMG_0480.jpg
    IMG_0480.jpg
    54.9 KB · Views: 1,239
  • IMG_0245.jpg
    IMG_0245.jpg
    24.8 KB · Views: 1,272

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
Well, you have no trap at all yet, but if you put a trap under the sink and then turned down right away into that drain pipe, then it will be an S.

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score
As much as we dislike the thought of using an air-admittance valve, this would be the place which I would use one.