(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Two 6A devices on a 15A circuit (?)

  1. #1
    Homeowner geniescience's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    humid summers hot, humid winters cold
    Posts
    2,152

    Default Two 6A devices on a 15A circuit (?)

    Can I hear whether this is definitely unwise, or if it's acceptable:
    Two 6A devices on a 15A circuit.

    Neither require a dedicated circuit.
    The circuit is below the kitchen countertop.

  2. #2
    In the Trades Gary Swart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Yakima WA
    Posts
    7,246

    Default

    If 6 + 6 still = 12, and as long as the devices will not exceed 15 amps total, you're good to go.

  3. #3
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,679

    Default

    We generally tend to follow the 80% rule for single fed devices. However, many of the equipment I deploy have load balancing power supplies fed by two or three circuits so if one circuit were to fail the other one or two need to be able to pick up the slack so I have to base it on worst case possibility.

    http://ecmweb.com/mag/electric_sizing_circuit_breaker/

  4. #4
    In the Trades Gary Swart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Yakima WA
    Posts
    7,246

    Default

    80% of 15 = 12. I still say the would be no problem.

  5. #5
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    I we cannot put two 6 amp loads on a 15 amp circuit, we will have to re-write the building codes and completely rethink how we live!!!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Convert 220 circuit to 110 circuit to be run to new subpanel
    By C Willard in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-24-2009, 06:39 PM
  2. Replacing recessed thermal overload devices
    By thebeave in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-07-2009, 07:43 PM
  3. I need to pull a new circuit for a hot tub.
    By Erico in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-18-2007, 04:06 PM
  4. NRTL requirements for user devices ???
    By mistrhat in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-21-2007, 08:06 AM
  5. Are there devices where you can set a temp for shower
    By herbolaryo in forum Shower & bathtub Forum & Blog
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-07-2007, 02:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •