(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle

Thread: Rough-in for concrete over PVC DWV

Default Rough-in for concrete over PVC DWV

What is standard practice at the rough-in stage for PVC DWV piping that penetrates a slab floor? In particular, how are vents and drains terminated in (or above or below) the slab before the concrete work is done?

Are all drains/vents brought through the slab and left projecting above the level of the concrete, a foot or so? (Presumably toilet drains are then cut off to finished floor level.) Or is there some standard practice that leaves the piping at or below concrete level at rough-in, and then the piping is extended through the slab after the concrete work and structural framing are completed?

I'm an amateur with some experience with under-slab DWV plumbing but in the past have used what must be non-standard approaches to this question. (I believe I'm adequately informed/experienced with pipe sizing and pipe layouts including under-slab practices, and can satisfy local building codes.)

Quote Originally Posted by jmprTL View Post
    What is standard practice at the rough-in stage for PVC DWV piping that penetrates a slab floor? In particular, how are vents and drains terminated in (or above or below) the slab before the concrete work is done?

Are all drains/vents brought through the slab and left projecting above the level of the concrete, a foot or so? (Presumably toilet drains are then cut off to finished floor level.) Or is there some standard practice that leaves the piping at or below concrete level at rough-in, and then the piping is extended through the slab after the concrete work and structural framing are completed?

I'm an amateur with some experience with under-slab DWV plumbing but in the past have used what must be non-standard approaches to this question. (I believe I'm adequately informed/experienced with pipe sizing and pipe layouts including under-slab practices, and can satisfy local building codes.)