(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Conduit Runs and box wireing

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Retired tool & Die and Mechanic Giles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    N.W. Alabama--Florence--
    Posts
    110

    Default Conduit Runs and box wireing

    I am adding a branch circuit box to a storage room. This box will supply power for a 220v welder and a small 220 4K watt heater. I have noticed that all the 110v wireing is in 1/2" conduit from the celing down.
    Is this required by most codes, and what about "overhead runs"?
    Also, since this box will be mounted in a joining separate room with main breaker panel, what are the grounding rules--since there is no main breaker and no way to bond the ground on the new box?

  2. #2
    Test, Don't Guess! cacher_chick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Land of Cheese
    Posts
    3,146

    Default

    Wiring must be in conduit where in places where it must be protected from physical harm. Some local codes require conduit throughout.

    I don't understand your question regarding grounding.
    All metal electrical boxes and receptacles must be grounded, be it through conduit and/or a separate ground wire.

  3. #3
    Retired tool & Die and Mechanic Giles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    N.W. Alabama--Florence--
    Posts
    110

    Default

    The box I am installing does not have a main disconnect. It is a QO square D, 6 space #QO6-12L100S. It is my understanding that a sub panel must be bonded and I know how this is done. However there is no way to disconnect the grounds and neutrals as there is only one ground bar. There is a bonding screw.
    I plan to run supply wires from the main panel just as I would if I were adding a 220v recepticle.
    Is this correct?
    I am not new to electrical work but I am not an electrician. I go to the extremes sometimes to make sure it is done correct, and I think that is good.
    THANKS for helping.

  4. #4

    Default

    You need a separate ground bar. You can purchase these separately. Just screw one into the back box. There are usually unused screw holes in the back of the box for this purpose and the bar usually includes the screws. The existing bar should be isolated from the box. This is your neutral bar. Just remove the grounding screw from it. Unlike in your main panel neutrals and grounds must be kept separate in a sub panel.

    -rick

  5. #5
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,679

    Default

    In our regulatory domain, I don't believe that metal conduit is adequate for grounding and that a ground wire is required.

  6. #6
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    250.118 Types of Equipment Grounding Conductors.
    The equipment grounding conductor run with or enclosing
    the circuit conductors shall be one or more or a combination
    of the following:
    FPN: For effective ground-fault current path, see 250.2
    Definition.
    (1) A copper, aluminum, or copper-clad aluminum conductor.
    This conductor shall be solid or stranded; insulated,
    covered, or bare; and in the form of a wire or
    a busbar of any shape.
    (2) Rigid metal conduit.
    (3) Intermediate metal conduit.
    (4) Electrical metallic tubing.

Similar Threads

  1. Do I need conduit?
    By comfun1 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-27-2010, 06:06 PM
  2. Wireing to central unit?
    By Giles in forum HVAC Heating & Cooling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-17-2009, 02:43 PM
  3. Well Pump Wireing
    By Giles in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-26-2009, 08:08 PM
  4. Jet Tub wireing
    By Diamondintheruff in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-23-2008, 10:22 AM
  5. Shallow jetpump with airtank, runs near empty before pump runs
    By educateme in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-23-2007, 06:28 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •