(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle

Thread: Ground wire size

Retired tool & Die and Mechanic Giles's Avatar

Default Ground wire size

Over the years, I have noticed that on some romex type wire and some extension cords have a ground wire that is smaller then the load wires.
    I always thought it was correct to have the same gauge wires.
    When is a smaller ground wire ok?

Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar

The ground wire is there for safety...not for normal current flow. Current flow is designed to go from the hot to the neutral. If, for some reason, there is a fault, the ground provides a path that is sufficient to blow the fuse or trip the CB...therefore, any current in the ground is only there a very short time, so it shouldn't heat up like a larger wire could, and is sufficient. For this reason, you can save some money by using a smaller wire there, and most places do.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

Test, Don't Guess! cacher_chick's Avatar

An equipment grounding conductor is sized based on the over-current protection installed on the circuit. 15A circuit=14ga, 20A=12 ga, 30-60A=10ga, 70-100A= 8ga, 110-200A= 6ga. The grounding conductor may be larger than this minimum requirement, but should not be smaller.