(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Ionics 3210 water softner problem?

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member Flaguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Fla.
    Posts
    6

    Default Ionics 3210 water softner problem?


    Good-day to All.

    My problem is i just mover my water softner. Disconnected it and laid it in the back of my truck and moved it about 100 miles. Hooked it up to my home, ran it thru a cycle only then did i find out black sedement type stuff coming out of all of my faucets.
    Regenerated, Opened them again and run water it MAY be just a little better, not as much black sedement coming out it is a little more brown but still has small flaked of black stuff.

    I know this is not much info but it is all i have at the present time. Softner has only been been installed about 24 hours and regeneratrd 3 times.

    Did i fail to let enough water run to flush out the system?
    Did i mess up the media when i laid it on it's side and move it?

    Can it (I) be saved. Any and all comments/siggestions/help would be appriciated.

    Thanks
    Flaguy

  2. #2
    In the Trades Akpsdvan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    Try getting the unit to the first part of the cleaning cycle , the backwash and unplug the unit for about 30 minutes.
    This will help to get the media to reset its self in the levels that it should be with in the media tank.

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member Flaguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Fla.
    Posts
    6

    Default

    OK, thanks i will try that.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    That's all folks! Gary Slusser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Wherever I park the motorhome.
    Posts
    6,790

    Default

    The black stuff is probably resin. And it should not be able to get out of the tank so the inlet/outlet is reversed (plumbed backwards) or the distributor tube is broken or the DT o-ring seal between the DT and control valve is leaking.

    Transporting a softener with it laying down will allow resin up into the control valve and then out into the plumbing but... usually not enough to block fixtures. You need to bypass the unit and find the cause or you can totally block plumbing and fixtures witr hresin. Backwashing or regenerating it isn't going to help solve the problem.
    Gary Slusser Retired (= out of business)
    Click Here to learn how to correctly size or program a water softener.
    CAUTION, as of Nov 12 2013 all YouTube videos showing how to rebuild a Clack valve have an error in them that can cause damage.

  5. #5
    DIY Junior Member Flaguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Fla.
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Just went outside to see where i am on my manual regeneration.
    At this time the timer is somewhere the 108 to 110 pin setting, almost at the last 2 pins.
    Brine tank was on the fill position and 9 1/4 inched and climbing almost ready to shut off according to the float level and this time the brine water is black.

  6. #6
    DIY Junior Member Flaguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Fla.
    Posts
    6

    Default

    up-date.
    Regeneration completed. Brine tank has 91/4 inches of black brine.
    Dumped the tank.
    Let the system sat for about 45 min.
    Turned the water hose on, water coming out was black but not like before. Decided to just let the hose run after a few minutes it started to clear up. Let it run about another 10min.
    Water looked clear.
    Came into the house and let the water run until it cleared up. Opened every faucet until they ran clear.

    Then decided it looked clear enough to taste it. Taste test was good

    Now will let it (and me) rest until tomorrow and then see what the water looks like.

    Brine tank is now empty of brine. Put some salt in it.
    Question is, should i put water in the brine tank to bring it up to about 4" that will put it just a little under the perforated platform the ice sat's on OR let the next regeneration put the water in it???

    Thanks
    Hate to be a pain, but this is driving me nuts.

  7. #7
    In the Trades Akpsdvan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    Putting some water in the brine tank would be a very good idea if there right now is NO water there.... prime the pump...

    After a cycle or two the brine tank will have the water at the right level , but it will take a bit longer if you do not put some in after cleaning out the brine tank of both salt and water... again.. prime the pump idea for the brine tank.
    Water should be about 1-2" over that salt table at the bottom of the brine tank.

  8. #8
    DIY Junior Member Flaguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Fla.
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Thanks for the input.
    I put water in the brine tank. Will have to play the wait and see game.

    Again, THANKS

  9. #9
    DIY Junior Member Flaguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Fla.
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Up-date.
    As of today,and water is clear and passes the taste test.
    will wait until it regenerates on it's own..

    Thanks, again for your help.

Similar Threads

  1. IONICS 3210 programming.
    By L2rado in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-14-2012, 11:05 PM
  2. Ionics filter problem
    By TJ cincinnati in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-13-2010, 07:08 PM
  3. Water Softner Problem
    By bikeflip43 in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-16-2006, 09:08 AM
  4. water softner problem
    By Greg in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-25-2005, 04:57 PM
  5. water softner problem
    By Alexdc99 in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-17-2005, 10:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •