Clack water softener.

Users who are viewing this thread

abcrobots

Reaction score
Hi
I am having a problem with my WS-1 clack softener.
The problem is, I get no soft water out of the unit, and the brine tank is FULL to the top of water. It's like the unit isn't drawing anything out of the brine well during regen, but every time, it adds more to the tank, despite the float being buried in water, and the valve being closed.
I took the float/valve assembly out of the tank, and blew in it to check to see if it was closing, and it seems to be. It's also not allowing water out (sucking) when the float is in the up position.
I'm a bit of a newbie, but I'm adventurous, so if you guide me on the finer points of rebuilding that puppy, I'll give it my best.... That is, of course if that's what you think is required.....
How is it supposed to work, anyway? what is supposed to be the sequence of operations?

Thanks in advance!

Gary Slusser

That's all folks!
Reaction score
Website
www.qualitywaterassociates.com
Then you probably have water flowing into the salt tank when it shouldn't be. The cause is the brine piston and seals leaking. So you replace the main and brine pistons and seals called the stack. To test that guess remove the brine line from the fitting on the control valve and watch to see if there is water flowing out the fitting after a minute or so. If there is that's your problem and it prevents any water from being sucked out of the salt tank during the Brining position and usually allows flow into the salt tank rather sucking any out.

Tom Sawyer

In the Trades
Reaction score
Isn't a major cause of that problem a cracked or loose fitting in the brine tank on the line?

abcrobots

Reaction score
UPDATE:
I took the brine line off the brine assembly, and there was no pressure or water in the line. I just wonder if the program is calling for too much time when refilling the brine tank?