(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Advice requested: wring an air compressor motor

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member henny_316's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2

    Default Advice requested: wring an air compressor motor

    I purchased a 60 gallon air compressor Kobalt 60-Gallon Cast Iron Oil Lubricated Air Compressor with Heavy Duty Induction Motor
    from Lowes. It didn't include the power cable. I purchased 3/C 12 awg SJ00W and a 20A/250V straight blade plug (I know this says 125V, I actually have the 250V). Where do I hook up the black, green, and white cables to inside the motor and the plug? Here are pictures I took and drew. The posts next to #3 are the only open posts that I see.

    Thanks for your help!

    Edit *The yellow wire off of post 4 isn't yellow, it's white.*
    Attached Images Attached Images    
    Last edited by henny_316; 01-10-2011 at 05:24 PM.

  2. #2
    Test, Don't Guess! cacher_chick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Land of Cheese
    Posts
    3,142

    Default

    The wires connect to the pressure switch, not the motor.

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member henny_316's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2

    Default

    That actually makes a whole lot of sense. Although the pressure switch didn't appear to have a breakout panel where the motor does have a notch that is cable sized open (bottom right of the last picture.) I'll check that out again when I get home though. Thanks!
    Last edited by henny_316; 01-10-2011 at 06:26 PM.

  4. #4
    General Engineering Contractor ballvalve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    northfork, california
    Posts
    3,258

    Default

    Never saw a Lowes rig without a plug. Was it a return?

    Absolutely looks like a 120v rig to me, coming from the pressure switch, where your 120v plug should come in.

    Better get better information or save that receipt for the burn out.

  5. #5
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    it is a 240 volt
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  6. #6
    General Engineering Contractor ballvalve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    northfork, california
    Posts
    3,258

    Default

    I just think we need a law about HP ratings. 3.7 HP is likely derived from a 1.5 HP motor plus its [fake] service factor plus a lot of fiction.

    How about those 5 HP shop vacs that plug into your 15 amp 120v outlet? WOW!

    Someone actually sued Sears years ago and won a settlement on this issue.

    Since its a dedicated 240v rig, it would have been nice if they ran a black and red wire to the motor along with a ground from the switch.

Similar Threads

  1. converting air compressor 220v motor to 110?
    By dabiz7 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-12-2010, 09:33 AM
  2. Cast iron motor adpater cracked Goulds Motor Apapter Part#1K310
    By on02151blueline in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 03-18-2010, 04:56 PM
  3. CSV recommendation requested
    By inspectorgene in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-02-2009, 06:06 PM
  4. Distance of Telephone (POTS) wring?
    By Lakee911 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-12-2008, 08:40 AM
  5. Motor setup advice
    By joeyar in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 01-12-2008, 09:32 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •