Dimmer switch confusion

Users who are viewing this thread

10ZA

Reaction score
Hello Smarter People,
I feel pretty sad that I cant figure this out myself, but I'm not an electrician and I need some help. I replaced a light fixture in my house this past weekend and also decided to put it on a dimmer. Pretty simple and I've done this before, but when I turned the power back on, the light was on even though the switch was in the off position. I turned the power off, switched the 2 wires going into the switch and powered up again. Once again the light is on with switch in the off position! I called the guy that sold me the light and he said I put the switch in upsidedown, so I turned it around and it works like it's supposed to, as far as the light being on when the switch is in the up position, but now my dimmer, which is a slide right next to the switch, operates the opposite of what it should. When I push the dimmer upwards the light should get brighter, but it gets dimmer instead. Do I just need to take down the fixture itself and switch the black and white connections? The wire that came with the light was all one color. Thank you for any guidance you can provide. Have a great day!!

10ZA

Reaction score
Hey Jim,
It's definitely a dimmer. I've used the same one in 3 other spots of the house and they all work great.

10ZA

Reaction score
Any chance this is a 3way/ single pole convertible dimmer? That might explain the upside down.

Thanks Jim,
I'm 99 percent sure it is just a single pole dimmer. I installed the exact same model on a different light and had no problems. I think I'll take the light down and switch the black and white connections to the light. Maybe that will do it for me. I've just never had such a problem replacing a switch with a dimmer before.

Jim Port

Electrical Contractor
Reaction score
Website
www.manta.com
I'd say you have the dimmer wired across one of two bulbs that are in series.
One bulb gets dimmer and the other gets brighter.