(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Ran over the well cap, reconnected wires no water pressure

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    phoenixville pa
    Posts
    2

    Default Ran over the well cap, reconnected wires no water pressure

    Ran over the well cap this afternoon collecting leaves. The electrical wire got cut and I have reconnected it. The well cap is in the trash and I have not replaced it yet. Used the water for a couple hours, flushing the toilet, drinking water. Water pressure started to drop when I took a shower. When I first checked the gauge I was getting 20 psi, now the pressure is at zero and will not build. Any ideas what to check. Supposed to ran like crazy tomorrow.

  2. #2
    That's all folks! Gary Slusser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Wherever I park the motorhome.
    Posts
    6,792

    Default

    I'd check the splices you made putting the cut wires back together.
    Gary Slusser Retired (= out of business)
    Click Here to learn how to correctly size or program a water softener.
    CAUTION, as of Nov 12 2013 all YouTube videos showing how to rebuild a Clack valve have an error in them that can cause damage.

  3. #3
    Homeowner Thatguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    1,460

    Default

    Current is what moves motors. Check the current draw with a clamp-on ammeter.

    I can't seem to pull it up right now but there is a table in the NEC possibly numbered 400 something that gives max. current draw for several types of motors.
    Last edited by Thatguy; 12-12-2010 at 07:17 AM.

  4. #4
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    phoenixville pa
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Re- did the wiring, and water is getting to the pressure tank, I replaced the pressure switch but it does not build pressure? It does not seem to be turning on or off. There 220v going into the switch and 220v out. Any ideas?

  5. #5
    Test, Don't Guess! cacher_chick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Land of Cheese
    Posts
    3,154

    Default

    Check the voltage out at the well head. There might be some damage to the wiring you did not notice.

  6. #6
    Porky Cutter,MGWC Porky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    727

    Default

    Is there power getting to the wires that you spliced? There could be an overload tripped or fuse somewhere before the splice at the wellhead.
    Porky Cutter, MGWC
    (Master Ground Water Consultant)

  7. #7
    That's all folks! Gary Slusser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Wherever I park the motorhome.
    Posts
    6,792

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ronivw View Post
    Re- did the wiring, and water is getting to the pressure tank, I replaced the pressure switch but it does not build pressure? It does not seem to be turning on or off. There 220v going into the switch and 220v out. Any ideas?
    Since redoing the wire connections out at the well, and now you have water again but not enough pressure to shut off the switch, you probably have a water leak.

    Or you don't have the wires connected right and aren't getting 220v to the pump and it's running on 120v. You can use a meter and sharp pointed probes on the wires below your connections for 120v each to ground.

    Listen inside the well casing for water spraying. If so and you have a pitless adapter, you may have damaged the o-ring seal of the pitless or bumped the casing so the o-ring is not sealed. Or, you bumped the casing enough to cause a leak underground just outside the casing where the water line to the house attaches to the pitless part that comes out through the casing. My guess would be that the voltage isn't 220 to the pump.
    Gary Slusser Retired (= out of business)
    Click Here to learn how to correctly size or program a water softener.
    CAUTION, as of Nov 12 2013 all YouTube videos showing how to rebuild a Clack valve have an error in them that can cause damage.

  8. #8
    General Engineering Contractor ballvalve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    northfork, california
    Posts
    3,261

    Default

    Water leak in the well.

Similar Threads

  1. Two wires
    By jc60618 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-27-2010, 08:27 AM
  2. Wires in electrical box
    By toolguy504 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-31-2009, 05:12 PM
  3. How can I tell if my wires are live?
    By coopns in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-25-2009, 06:33 PM
  4. newly reconnected well problems
    By kfh1963 in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-21-2009, 12:11 PM
  5. Speaker wires
    By Nate R in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-26-2008, 09:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •