(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Well pump only runs when I hold switch manually

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member jiggypiggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB
    Posts
    5

    Default Well pump only runs when I hold switch manually

    I just had a new red jacket pump installed and it has a centripro AS4CB pressure switch on it. I lost power and now pump wont start. I read posts here and other places that say there should be a reset switch thingy on the side, like a little lever that you hold up until there is enough pressure, then it works on its own. Mine does not seem to have that. I took the lid off the pressure control box and found it has power going to some magnet things. Then there is a black piece of plastic that has metal on it. Looks like the magents are supposed to suck the plastic/metal towards it. When I push the plastic to the magents, the pump kicks in and I get water. Just cant get it to kick in once I use up the water in holding tank. Not sure why this would happen. I thought plumber did a good job and its been working (3 days seemed fine). Is there some other type of reset switch? Also, I do not have a pressure guage on the pump.

  2. #2
    Porky Cutter,MGWC Porky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    727

    Default

    Most likely it's a sensor problem. Computerized pumps are a night mare. Simplest solution is convert to a conventional pump and install a Pside-Kick http://www.cyclestopvalves.com/products.html.
    Porky Cutter, MGWC
    (Master Ground Water Consultant)

  3. #3
    Well Drilling/Service justwater's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    NE FL, SE GA
    Posts
    320

    Default

    if its only been 3 days, i'd call them.. unless he didnt supply the parts in which case he might not have to honor any warranty.
    Last edited by justwater; 12-08-2010 at 06:11 PM.

  4. #4
    DIY Junior Member jiggypiggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Just a quick thank you. Works now, needed to get a heater blowing right on pressure switch, works fine now.

  5. #5
    General Engineering Contractor ballvalve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    northfork, california
    Posts
    3,261

    Default

    The magnetic thingie would likely be a magnetic contactor or motor starter. If the pressure switch is froze up, it will not get a signal to close.

    You probably have a pump control box, which takes the heavy starting load off of the pressure switch. Its a very good system.
    Last edited by ballvalve; 01-04-2011 at 08:04 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. How to manually prime a 1985 Jacuzzi Pump model 5RP2?
    By MJBC in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-17-2010, 01:48 PM
  2. Pump won't hold pressure when running water.
    By sneetches in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-07-2009, 06:33 AM
  3. pump will not hold pressure
    By jakjkl in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-12-2008, 04:07 PM
  4. Pump won't start except manually...briefly
    By macbd1 in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 07-16-2007, 03:09 PM
  5. Shallow jetpump with airtank, runs near empty before pump runs
    By educateme in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-23-2007, 06:28 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •