How to clean main vent?

Users who are viewing this thread

Jdon88

Reaction score
I have reason to believe that the vent to my main sewer drain may be obstructed. The vent is about a 1.5" metal pipe that comes off the drain, thru the outside wall and up along the house. It is about 20' long. I don't have a snake but I do have about 30' of 1/4" cable that I could run down the pipe to see if it hits anything. Or would it be a good idea to put a garden hose in the pipe and see if I can flush any obstruction down? Is there a good test to confirm that it is blocked? Thank you.

Redwood

Master Plumber
Reaction score
I doubt it is obstructed!

The "clogged vent" is the most blamed part of the plumbing system....

Yet it is the least problematic part of the plumbing system...
In my entire career as a plumber I can count the number of clogged vents I have found on a single hand....

What are the symptoms of your plumbing problem?

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
"You have reason to believe the main vent may be obstructed". What do you base this assumption on? Why not give us the symptoms and perhaps we can offer some suggestions.

Jdon88

Reaction score