Toilet rough-in questions

Users who are viewing this thread

retskcir

Reaction score
I have no experience in this area and am looking around for info. I'm remodeling a laundry room on the first floor and installing a bathroom directly over it on the second floor. I don't want to finish the bathroom now, just do the rough in. I have 7" of clearance under the floor for the bathroom plumbing and the floor is going to be about 1.5" thick finished. The preliminary questions are.

1. Do I have enough room under the floor for the toilet plumbing?
2. Will a 45 degree closet flange help?
3. If the flange should sit on top of the finished floor and I don't want to install the floor now how do I mount the flange?
4. What type of Tee is required?
5. Can I connect a shower, a toilet, and a sink (from the bath) and a sink and a washer (from the laundry room) to the same 3" drain?

Thanks all for the help.

Lakee911

I&C Engineer (mostly WWTP)
Reaction score
retskcir said:
1. Do I have enough room under the floor for the toilet plumbing?.
I don't see why you don't. 7+1.5 for a three inch drain should be sufficient.
retskcir said:
3. If the flange should sit on top of the finished floor and I don't want to install the floor now how do I mount the flange?
You can leave it out and just plug the hole until the finished floor comes in. If you're doing PVC and glue it in and decide on a change height of the floor or different material and it's already in it would need to be moved.
4. What type of Tee is required?
Saitary Tee
5. Can I connect a shower, a toilet, and a sink (from the bath) and a sink and a washer (from the laundry room) to the same 3" drain?
I don't think it would be a problem as long as it is vented properly, but someone else can better answer whether too many units are draining into a 3" pipe.

As others say, 'My unprofessional opinion'
Jason

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
dwv_b2.jpg