(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Digital water softener manual regeneration mode?

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member myaroch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    1

    Default Digital water softener manual regeneration mode?

    I'm interested in a water softener but for the first couple of months when I install, I will need to hook a garden hose up and run a manual regeneration when needed. In the spring I will be able to hook up a drain and run on automatic. Do any of the digital control softeners offer a manual regeneration only mode that will not use their auto feature if set this way?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Previous member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    North of the Mason dixon Line
    Posts
    1,150

    Default

    I assume the hose is on the drain line? and for some reason you can not run a proper drain at this time?

  3. #3
    In the Trades Akpsdvan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    You could always leave it unplugged between regen cycles.. plug it in, start the cycle with the drain going to where you wish and then unplug it when it is done..

  4. #4
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,624

    Default

    Setting the water hardness to the lowest number, even zero if possible, would delay the automatic regeneration. So if you knew when it would happen, assuming yours tells you how many gallons of water were used, then you could do the manual one ahead of time.

  5. #5
    That's all folks! Gary Slusser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Wherever I park the motorhome.
    Posts
    6,790

    Default

    The best is to put the discharge into the septic or sewer system.
    Gary Slusser Retired (= out of business)
    Click Here to learn how to correctly size or program a water softener.
    CAUTION, as of Nov 12 2013 all YouTube videos showing how to rebuild a Clack valve have an error in them that can cause damage.

Similar Threads

  1. New homeowner...existing water softerner...no manual...not regenerating
    By msomerville in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 06-12-2010, 03:46 PM
  2. Culligan water softener stuck on regeneration
    By shiv in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-22-2010, 07:41 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-25-2010, 10:39 PM
  4. water softener mechanical vs digital meter?
    By tylertj in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-20-2007, 06:21 PM
  5. Water Softener Regeneration
    By jbschaefer1 in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-08-2006, 04:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •