(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle

Thread: How do you remove Moen Shower Faucet

Default How do you remove Moen Shower Faucet

Here is the problem: When turning the knob on the shower faucet the water no longer comes on. However, if you remove the faceplate and use a screwdriver you can turn the water on and off. Do I just have a stripeed plastic knob or is the Moen cartirdge broken? Also I am having trouble removing the knob. I checked onthe MOEN web page and they say to use an allen wrench. But I don't see an allen wrench bolt anywere on the neck??Below is a link to a picture of the faucet.

Sebastien
    Last edited by saubouin; 10-08-2005 at 01:50 PM.

Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar

Does it have a little logo cover in the middle of the cap? It often prys off, exposing the bolt. Not really familar with that valve (I'm not a pro).
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

Default Moen

Is that a pull - push and right/left type.

This is a standard Moen chateau. The screw in the picture holds the handle on. If you remove the screw, you can remove the handle. It is probalby stripped.

Forum Admin, Expert Plumber Terry's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Moen Chauteau

http://www.moen.com/shared/pdf/2353pt.pdf

If by moving the screw, the water will turn on, then you would need to replace the handle. A simple phillips screwdriver will remove the screw for the handle.
    Last edited by Terry; 10-09-2005 at 11:25 AM.

Default Same faucet, same problem

Quote Originally Posted by saubouin