(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle

Thread: Any experience with Cadet FloWise 1.1 GPF Pressure Assist?

Default Any experience with Cadet FloWise 1.1 GPF Pressure Assist?

This American Standard toilet popped up on my radar while searching for a toilet to replace an old Kohler gravity model. I am not a big fan of the pressure-assisted models, but I have owned a Kohler Highline 1.1 gallon model for two years and am extremely satisfied.

I'm not dead-set on this American Standard toilet, but rather curious if it is any good. Has anyone had any experience using this one gallon American Standard toilet? Thanks
    Last edited by Terry; 09-30-2010 at 05:06 PM.

Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar

Personally, I see no good reason to own a pressure assisted toilet and wouldn't have one in my home. No other comment on that toilet, as I've not used one.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

Forum Admin, Expert Plumber Terry's Avatar
    Blog Entries

The Kohler also uses the Flushmate 1.1 gallon flush.
    If you liked the Kohler, odds are that the Flowise will work for you too.

Thank you for your advice jadnashua and Terry. If the noise on the AS model isn't an issue, I might take my chances considering it works on the same system as the Kohler.

As I have stated often...I am a big proponent of pressure assisted. Mine is almost 19 years old. It is 1.6; I have not used a 1.1

I don't claim to have the professional experience that Jimbo possesses, but pressure assisted toilets were an effort to make a poorly designed low flow toilet function. They are loud, they tend to shred paper without totally flushing it, and they are super expensive to repair. To top it off, they are totally unnecessary with a properly engineered toilet. Toto doesn't even make a pressure assisted toilet.

Forum Admin, Expert Plumber Terry's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Gary,