Cannot remove shower valve stem - no bonnet nut, only threads?

Users who are viewing this thread

DoctorK

Reaction score
I'm trying to replace the washers on a leaky bath/shower faucet. I've never done this before, but reading many guides online I understand the basic procedure.

After removing the handle, the only nut I can see is the packing nut. I was able to remove it, but obviously, that didn't free the valve stem. I have pictures below where you can see - there are only threads beyond the packing nut. There is no other "nut" to grab onto. The threads go about 1/2 inch back or so - they're what the chrome outer tube screws onto.

Beyond the brass threads, you might be able to see, it sort of steps down directly into the pipes into the wall. There is no "nut" beyond them.

The brand name on the handle screw cover is Speakman Kent. House is from the 60's, so the fixures are probably that old, although there is evidence on the packing nut, and on the pipes in the wall, of wrench marks, suggesting something (washer maybe) was changed more recently than that.

What am I missing? How do I get this out?

Here's what I'm working with:

DSC09528.JPG

Here's the stem. I have reattached the packing nut here. See the threads beyond?

DSC09525.JPG

Here you can see, it's all threads - no hex nut type thing to use a wrench on...

DSC09523.JPG

...from another angle, you can see that beyond the threads it kind of "steps down" to the pipes in the wall. In otherwords, there isn't anything beyond the threads that I'm not seeing - there just isn't anything there!

DSC09524.JPG

Thank you very much for taking a look - I really appreciate any insight you could give me!

Doc

Basement_Lurker

One who lurks
Reaction score
Did you try removing the packing nut, putting the handle back on, or a wrench on the smooth part of the exposed stem (not the finished end) and spinning the valve open all the way, and then trying to unscrew the assembly further so that it comes out?

DoctorK