Are there any types of side work you would rec to an apprentice?

Users who are viewing this thread

lizard

Reaction score
I am a plumbing apprentice. I am wrapping up a side job that involved replacing the polybutylene with wirsbo pex. At times I felt as though I was getting in way over my head. I did this job for the most part alone. I am not licensed, insured, or bonded.

I have been doing plumbing (except during lay off periods) since December 2005 mostly under the guidance of employers and occasionally for some of my own small jobs.

I do not think that this latest job exemplifies the type that I should be taking so, could you recommend plumbing jobs that I could take and under which conditions?

I am in Maryland. My latest thoughts are:

1) I'd like to be able to bring in an additional $500.00 a month. That's outside of what I make during my work weeks.

2) Have thought about getting a couple of different snakes and rodding drains for extra $$$.

3) This seems far fetched - Learning how to size water distribution systems and offering my services as a consultant.

Thank you for your time and thoughts

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
I am not licensed, insured, or bonded.

Well that could be interesting if you ever have a problem, no insurance is scary.
A fitting that pops can add up to $100,000 pretty soon.
I guess if the homeowner is bringing you in, they better have insurance.

I can't really recommend how you would do side jobs, it's something I did when I was young, but now I'm older and have seen the complications from it.
The State requires licensing, bonding and insurance to protect homeowners. You're kind of hanging out there with no protection.
Here, if they find you working without the necessary requirements, they can take the van, car or truck, with tools from you as a penalty.

Many places a homeowner can legally work on their own place, but it changes quickly when you are doing work for others.

Redwood