House Re-Plumbing Project

Users who are viewing this thread

rckowal

Reaction score
I have to replace the galvanized potable water plumbing in a residential home. I'm considering plastics - both PEX or PVC (CPVC). Although this is a DIY project, I have previously installed a plastic lawn sprinkler system as well as sweated copper & (cold water) PVC. Since I'm a retired Plastics Engineer with more than 30 years experience doing DIY home maintenance/remodeling projects, I have pretty good "hands-on" skills, the tools & understanding of such projects.

I would like recommendations from the experts on this forum regarding what system to use - PEX or PVC? It appears that new home construction is using mostly PEX so that looks like a good candidate. But I wouldn't rule out PVC if the forum thinks it would be a better choice.

A possible issue that bothers me about PEX is the Class Action Lawsuits involving Zurn brass fittings. I'm considering Zurn because it's readily available & priced right at Lowe's. If there are other preferred fitting systems, which is best? Although lower cost is nice, I prefer quality over cost.

Your replies will be very much appreciated.

Best regards, Richard

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score