(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Kitchen otr micro wave

  1. #1
    Jack of all trades, Master of none KULTULZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    ROCKVILLE, MD
    Posts
    85

    Question Kitchen otr micro wave

    I am wanting to mount an over-the-range microwave to the underside of a cabinet that I will be installing about six inches from the wall surface (this cabinet will stand out from the rest- all 12" deep- but MW will still be against wall).

    I have a 20A dedicated feed going to it but what is correct connection code? Do I install a 20A receptacle in the wall surface (5/8" fire rated) and connect it to another receptacle box mounted in the rear face of the cabinet (I would like to keep the metal box on the wall surface to keep it within fire code)?

    I also want to mount a 15A receptacle next to it for under counter lamps.

    Is it allowable that the wall receptacle box be wired to the cabinet box (face flush with rear face of cabinet) with flexible conduit?

    Any and all suggestions (other than my dealing with reality) are welcomed...
    Jack of All Trades...

    ...Master of None...

  2. #2
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    Any receptacle in place for an otr micro would be a bad place to try to plug in counter top lamps. I would bring the wiring for the microwave receptacle out of the wall in MC flex conduit to a box flushed to the back side of the cabinet.

    One issue will be the location of the cord for the microwave...it may come up in that 6" dead space, meaning the receptacle could be flush to the actual back wall. No matter how you slice that, I don't know how you would plug lamps into it.

  3. #3
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,605

    Default

    The microwave outlet is often inside the cabinet above it so it can be accessed without pulling the MW.

  4. #4
    Jack of all trades, Master of none KULTULZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    ROCKVILLE, MD
    Posts
    85

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jimbo View Post

    Any receptacle in place for an otr micro would be a bad place to try to plug in counter top lamps. I would bring the wiring for the microwave receptacle out of the wall in MC flex conduit to a box flushed to the back side of the cabinet.

    One issue will be the location of the cord for the microwave...it may come up in that 6" dead space, meaning the receptacle could be flush to the actual back wall. No matter how you slice that, I don't know how you would plug lamps into it.

    Quote Originally Posted by hj View Post
    The microwave outlet is often inside the cabinet above it so it can be accessed without pulling the MW.
    Yes, a receptacle and box would be in the cabinet. There would be a separate 15A box and receptacle next to it. I am just unsure how to correctly feed the cabinet boxes. It seems that on a firewall it would require an outlet in the wall and then again in the cabinet. Is it permissible to use flex originating from a hole in the wall? I want it (MW) to be easily removed/replaced in case of repair and/or replacement.
    Jack of All Trades...

    ...Master of None...

  5. #5

    Default

    Maybe I'm confused about what you are doing but.... once you shift the top cabinet 6 inches forward the cord from the top of the microwave will most likely not come out inside the cabinet. It will be behind it. In which case put the plug in the wall, plug in the microwave behind the cabinet and then mount it. **You will probably need to notch the bottom back edge of the cabinet to allow the wire to slip through as you move the MW into position so be prepared for that possibility.

    And if you wanted and outlet in the cabinet you don't need to use flex. Just pull the romex out of the wall and then into the outlet box mounted in the back of the cabinet. The wiring will be concealed and so long as there is no risk of damage to the wiring flex is overkill. If you still feel there is a need to use flex surface mount a jbox on the wall and then run the flex between the jbox and the box in the back of the cabinet.

    -rick
    Last edited by drick; 08-31-2010 at 07:47 PM.

  6. #6
    Jack of all trades, Master of none KULTULZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    ROCKVILLE, MD
    Posts
    85

    Thumbs up

    THANX RICK,

    You have my idea correct, but I just wanted to be able to do it to code. I want the steel box(es) in the wall to also be used as a fire stop. And the box(es) in the cabinet for aesthetic reasons. The 15A lamp outlet will be on a separate feed.

    Thanks Guys!
    Jack of All Trades...

    ...Master of None...

Similar Threads

  1. Help..Broken micro-switch tab, twice
    By homermandy in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-30-2010, 04:59 AM
  2. Sine wave monitor
    By r_2016 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-28-2009, 07:21 PM
  3. Google Wave
    By Dunbar Plumbing in forum Computers and Stuff
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-29-2009, 02:41 PM
  4. Who is using the Ridgid micro sea snake ?
    By toolaholic in forum Drain Cleaning
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-16-2007, 08:21 PM
  5. Seisco SH-11 Micro Boiler
    By enosez in forum HVAC Heating & Cooling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-21-2007, 05:52 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •