(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle

Thread: Shut off valve for wall-mounted faucet?

Default Shut off valve for wall-mounted faucet?

Just wanted to confirm that a shut-off valve is required when installing wall-mounted bathroom sink faucet. I'm quite sure it's "yes," for obvious reasons (working on plumbing without having to shut off water main), but why aren't they required for pot-fillers over the stovetop - or are they required there, as well? Haven't decided whether we're going with a true vanity/vessel sink combo (whereby a valve wouldn't show) or a pedestal sink - then we have to pick an attractive vessel sink drain/shut-off kit.

Thanks.

Oops...once I posted this, I got some other hits with similar question. I'd be interested in feedback nonetheless!

Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar

Not sure if it is required, but it is sure a lot more convenient!
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

I have NOT installed any so far, and no inspector has even asked for them. My opinion they are no different than a tub/shower valve which also do not have them.

Thanks! That's our rationale for not installing one.

Senior Robin Hood Guy Ian Gills's Avatar

I have fitted shut-offs to my tub and shower and I'd probably add them to that sink as well. Just 'cos an inspector does not ask for them, doesn't mean that they are a bad idea.

If all I did was the minimum to keep the inspector happy, my house would be falling down!

We usually do more than is minimally required in our home improvement projects, but I just can't seem to find a shut-off valve that doesn't look like it should be hidden under the toilet or behind a cabinet! With all of the high-end improvements we've made, I'd like it as clean-looking as possible. But your point is well-taken.

Thanks everyone for your advice!