(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Help needed for a water heater in the pasture?

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member TJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2

    Default Help needed for a water heater in the pasture?

    I have to place a heated self water in a pasture for the livestock and I am getting some conflicting information from a number of professionals.


    Heater: 120 V and 400 w
    300 ft. from service panel to the heater


    Need to know:

    1.) Size of wire?
    2.) Size of conduit?

    Thanks for your input
    TJS

  2. #2
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,655

    Default

    I would use #12 wires in 1/2" conduit, with metal rigid coming out of the ground to the "J" box. (No outlet and cord, because they will play with it or chew on it.)

  3. #3
    Forum Admin, Expert Plumber Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Bothell, Washington
    Posts
    14,202
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I just can't resist adding this video of a water heater in a pasture.
    Remember the PRV



    Water heater explosion in Kannapolis
    This news story video shows the debries from the explosion in the home.

    During their investigation, they found part of the water heater nearly 70 feet away from the building – it shot up through the roof, over a building and landed in a driveway. Debris was scattered more than 300 feet from the residence.
    Last edited by Terry; 08-13-2010 at 10:48 AM.

  4. #4
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,405

    Default

    You might want to run it off of a GFCI breaker. I'm guessing this is to keep the drinking water from freezing in the winter?
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  5. #5

    Default

    I agree, #12 in 1/2 inch conduit.
    -rick

  6. #6
    DIY Junior Member TJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2

    Default Thanks

    Thanks to all of you that have replied to my question.
    I know I did not mention a GFCI breaker, but I do intent on placing one in the service panel.

    My concern was that I had serveral professionals told me that I had to use #10 wire because of the distance.

    So off to the supply store for the materials and rent a back hoe.
    Thanks again,

    TJS

Similar Threads

  1. What is needed for new water heater in new location?
    By alwaysfine in forum Water Heater Forum, Tanks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-11-2010, 06:49 AM
  2. New water heater, existing water softener, expansion tank needed?
    By dhancock in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-12-2009, 08:09 PM
  3. Expansion tank needed on water heater?
    By Mike16 in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-10-2008, 06:01 AM
  4. Tankless Water heater problem...advice needed
    By jed1154 in forum Tankless Water Heater Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-27-2008, 04:23 PM
  5. Conventional Water Heater minumum space needed?
    By jdgarza_tx in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-31-2006, 07:32 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •