Uneven toilet flange in concrete

Users who are viewing this thread

John/Charleston

Reaction score
I'm going to tile a small bath floor in a rental I own. The flange is set uneven in the concrete floor and the high point of the flange is about 1/8" below the level of the concrete. The low side of the flange is about 1/4" lower.
The tile I'm using is 3/8" so with thinset, I'll be raising the floor level about another 1/2". I know there are flange extensions but I've never used one so I'm not sure just what they're like. Is there a way to both extend and level the flange without chopping out a large amount of concrete?

I'm a carpenter with an assortment of tools and I remember in the past delicately taking apart a pvc fitting set in concrete so I know that's possible though it felt pretty iffy.

Thanks for all replies. I can check back in the AM.

John

Attachments

• Flange.jpg
    Flange.jpg
    43.2 KB · Views: 6,797

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Flange extenders are flat, with no tapers, so they would not help the issue (at least in those I've seen). Most plumbers don't like all plastic flanges - they prefer those with a SS ring, stronger and less likely to crack if the toilet is tightened down too much, or gets bumped. Fixing the flange probably means going down to the elbow to replace and straighten the riser. If you go to that trouble, the flange is supposed to be on top of the finished floor.

You've got several choices in order of preference: redo the flange and put it where it should be, use some flange extnders to raise it, use a waxless seal that has a throat on it that will make the seal as is when recessed like that, or use a couple of stacked wax seals. If the toilet gets plugged and you plunge it aggressively, you can blow out stacked wax seals.

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score