Plastic Pipe Insulators / Brackets thru Studs for Copper Pipe -- When Required?

Users who are viewing this thread

Speede541

Reaction score
I'm installing copper water lines, and I've noticed that the plumber who worked on other parts of my remodel used polyethylene "tube insulators" (as pictured below) in some instances, but not all.

Is there a general rule of thumb when these should be used? Are they ever required?

For instance, when running copper through a series of studs, would it be advisable to use one on each end? On every stud? Every third? Etc...

I really can't determine any rhyme or reason or pattern to what the plumber before me did.

For reference, here's the IPS version of the insulator I'm looking at:
http://www.ipscorp.com/watertite/pipesupports/pipeinsulators

PipeInsulator_CLR_82970.jpg

moserro

Reaction score
I'm not an expert, but my understanding is those brackets are just used to limit vibrations in areas where there are fast acting valves (like near a washing machine), or where the pipe runs through studs/joists and vibration can occur. Just use your discretion. If you think the pipe has a chance of vibrating and causing unwanted noise, use the insulator.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
You don't need to support copper every 16".
You can skip studs. However many plumbers bang them in anyway.
If the holes are all in a straight line, then the skipped insulators aren't needed.

pipe-insulators.jpg

Last edited:

NHmaster3015

Master Plumber
Reaction score
A lot of plumbers don't use them at all, but I don't like those creeping pipe callbacks. I would put them in the one of the best inventions of the past 50 years catagory.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
The more places you attach a pipe to the framing, the louder it gets.
I don't use them on every hole for that reason. It's not to be cheap.
It's noise prevention.

Speede541

Reaction score