Back to back bathrooms without a double fixture?

Users who are viewing this thread

junger

Reaction score
I'm in the process of remodeling my bathrooms that are now back to back (originally had one) and I need some help. I'm under UPC. Originally, when I spoke with the inspector he recommended a double fixture tee for the toilets and then wet venting one tub on two lavs and then separately venting the other tub. I've read feedback that Terry and others aren't big fans of double fixture fittings and this leads to three vents (2", 2", 1.5"). Is there an easier way to plumb the bathrooms w/ two, 2" vents with 2 flat vents? I'm still learning so please bear with me. And, I've also been having trouble with the common wall and venting because there is a 2x8 joist directly underneath the wall. Is there a maximum vertical distance for a trap under a tub? See illustration #2. Even squeezing in the other 2" vents is going to be difficult because of this joist. I can move the joist slightly if there is a better design.

Thanks for the help.

EDIT: I'm under UPC in Idaho but they've amended 908 to add horizontal wet venting - "24. Section 908. Exception - Vertical Wet Venting. A horizontal wet vent may be created provided it is created in a vertical position and all other requirements of Section 908 of the UPC are met."

bathroom w iso..jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
The way you have it is the way I would install it. There is NOTHING wrong with a back to back fixture fitting, as long as you do not mean a sanitary cross or double combo. IF you put the toilet one low enough you can use a 3x2 or 3x1 1 1/2" street sanitary tee into the top of it, and run from that to the tub's "P" trap.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com