Comparing Toto Drake to Western Aris, a review of the Western Aris

Users who are viewing this thread

Nornee

Reaction score
Hi all, I am new to post, but been lurking for a while now! :) I thought I was pretty much sold on the Drake Eco after reading what everyone has to say, but, I have just found some Western Aris toilets for sale (half the cost of the Drake) at a Liquidation Centre. This doesn't seem to be a bad toilet from what little info I could find. Does anyone have anything to say about the Western Aris?
Thanks so much!

Last edited by a moderator:

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
They should be a lot cheaper then that.
I don't pay very much at all for the Western Aris. I was selling the Aris for $99.00 at one time.

I quit selling them when the local rep told one of my customers that I didn't know how to install toilets.
The tank wobbled on the Western Aris.
And neither the rep for Western, nor any of the Kings Men could stop it from wobbling.
So, even though the customer was getting a $75.00 rebate from the city of Seattle for the toilet, and I had felt so sorry for the woman, that I had thrown in a free flange repair and shutoff ( $100.00 of free work ) she complained that is was a "cheap" toilet and reported me to the BBB and the State Attorney's office. She said I shouldn't be installing and selling cheap toilets like the Western Aris.
Her complaint, is the only complaint that I've had since I opened for business in 1992.
(The only complaint in eighteen years)

I have never sold another Western Pottery toilet.
Whey would I after that?

They are a cheap toilet, and I can't make a silk purse out of a pigs ear.

The Toto Drake has a cradle for the tank to set down into.
The Western Aris doesn't, so the two bolt tank rocks back and forth on the thick rubber washer.

The Drake lid fits flush
The Aris lid hangs over

The Drake has a 3 flush valve.
The Aris has a 2" flush valve.